VRC Sires Produce Stakes Race Information

The VRC Sires Produce Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 March 2024

VRC Sires Produce Race History

See the 2024 VRC Sires Produce Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 VRC Sires Produce Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 VRC Sires Produce Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 VRC Sires Produce Stakes Preview and results.

History coming soon.

In 2023 Flyball fell and brought down Dubenenko. Both horses were OK but it put jockeys Jamie Kah and Craig Williams in hospital.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: La Tene (2019)

Fastest time (1400m): Pillaging (2002) 1:22:23

VRC Sires’ Produce Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Canny Lad (1990); Full On Aces (1981); Vain (1969); Storm Queen (1966); Pago Pago (1953)

Blue Diamond Stakes & VRC Sires’ Produce : Street Café (1984); Lord Dudley (1975); Tolerance (1971)

VRC Sires’ Produce & ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes: There have been 20 winners of this double but none since Full On Aces in 1981.

VRC Sires’ Produce & Champagne Stakes: There have been 2 winners of this double but none since Vain in 1969.

Leading jockeys : Roy Higgins with 7 wins (Bold Zest 1977; Lord Dudley 1975; Skyjack 1974; Imagele 1973; Century 1972; Tolerance 1971; Storm Queen 1966).

Interesting trivia: In 1964 Park Lane was first past the post, but lost on protest to Boeing Boy

Past winners of the VRC Sires Produce Stakes

Winners of past VRC Sires Produce Stakes include  include All Too Hard (2012) and Jameka (2015) who became a Caulfield Cup winning mare.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Traffic Warden Rue De Royale Bosustow
2023 Veight Apulia Amur
2022 Let’srollthedice Man In The Mirror Yaki Ishi
2021 Lightsaber Saif Micro
2020 Lunar Fox Larimer Street Ole Kirk
2019 La Tene Dalasan Fling
2018 Not A Single Cent Seberate Akkadian
2017 Sircconi Aspect Feng Chu
2016 Seaburge Detective Revolving Door
2015 Jameka Lazumba Sampeah
2014 Zululand Awesome Rock Marcado
2013 Twilight Royale Shamus Award Great Esteem
2012 All Too Hard Pronto Pronto Road Trippin
2011 Running Tall Decircles Grand Britannia
2010 Shamrocker Willow Creek Yosei
2009 Rostova Bombay Sling Gathering
2008 Von Costa De Hero Carnero Burgeis
2007 Incumbent Marching Below Zero
2006 De Lago Mist Ulfah Danever
2005 Danger Looms Under The Floor Ferocity
2004 Barely A Moment Big Poppa Pump Kylikwong
2003 Winestock Fresh Boy Hammerbeam
2002 Pillaging Delago Brom Tom Coureuse
2001 Spectatorial Tuscanos Valkyrian
2000 Preserve Ponton Flyer Happy Morning
1999 Testa Rossa Dangerous Downing Street
1998 Coup De Grace Special Edition Admired
1997 Millward Cornwall Queen Evader
1996 My Duke Zeya Clang
1995 Lochrae Donar Flying Spur
1994 Blevic Delsole Racer’s Edge
1993 Price Of Rancho Taps Staff Sergeant
1992 King Marauding Just Juan Apopka
1991 Not Related Diddy Do It Umatilla
1990 Canny Lad Century Pike Draw Card
1989 Rechabite Ice Solid Macwind
1988 Wonder Dancer Vitalic Glowing Tribute