Tulloch Stakes Race Information

The Tulloch Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and is a key lead-up to the Derby.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 March 2021

Tulloch Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Tulloch Stakes Preview and Results.

It is a major lead-up to the Derby.

History coming soon.

Tulloch Stakes Facts

Fastest time (2000m): Peep On The Sly(1996)/ Durbridge (1991) 2:00:3

Tulloch Stakes & Australian Derby: Quick Thinker (2020); Angel Of Truth (2019): Levendi (2018): Jon Snow (2017); Starcraft (2004); Ivory’s Irish (1995); Mahogany (1994); Durbridge (1991); Prolific (1984)

Interesting trivia: Golden Slipper winner Luskin Star ran second to Lefroy in the 1978 Tullloch Stakes.

Past winners of the Tulloch Stakes

Winners of past Tulloch Stakes often progress to the Derby.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Yaletown Prompt Prodigy Young Werther
2020 Quick Thinker Zebrowski Diasonic
2019 Angel of Truth Madison County Cossetot
2018 Levendi Astoria Weather With You
2017 Jon Snow Prized Icon Captain Duffy
2016 Old North Torgersen Multifacets
2015 Hauraki Omeros Merion
2014 Gallatin Singing Flame Best Case
2013 Philippi Hippopus Sir Denzel
2012 Polish Knight Iggi Pop Rekindled Alliance
2011 Fast Clip I Think I Do Shootoff
2010 Count Encosta Descarado Maluckyday
2009 Harris Tweed Dr Doutes Old Jock
2008 Book Of Kells Rios Prince De Galles
2007 Tipungwuti Pacino Carnegie House
2006 Manton Sepia Goldtown
2005 Stella Grande Roving Owl King Johny
2004 Starcraft Strafed Delzao
2003 Natural Blitz Platinum Scissors So Assertive
2002 Prince Of War Valedict My Tally
2001 Zareyev Universal Prince Off Guard
2000 Shogun Lodge Now Voyager Padfoot Charlie