Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes Race Information

The Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for two-year-old fillies run by the Victoria Racing Club in early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 2YO fillies
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes Race History

It was first held in 1971 as a Principal Race over 7 furlongs (about 1400m) and was won by a filly called Gossiper.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Crowned Glory (2000) 1:09:47

Interesting trivia: In 2019 there was a dead-hear for first between Ready Set Sail and Flit.

Past winners of the Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes

Winners of past Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 La Rocque Flying Evelyn Her Empire
2020 Minhaaj Muntaseera Succeed Indeed
2019 Ready Set Sail
Flit (dead heat)
2018 Khulaasa Krone Cristal Eyes
2017 Shoals Garrard Ploverset
2016 Thyme For Roses Emphatically Soviet Secret