The Wayne Wilson Race Information

The Wayne Wilson is a 1600 metre weight-for-age race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in June. It is held at Eagle Farm as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: WFA, 3YOs & Upwards
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 June 2023

The Wayne Wilson Race History

See the 2023 The Wayne Wilson Preview and results.

See the 2022 The Wayne Wilson Preview and results.

See the 2021 The Wayne Wilson Preview and results.

The race has had many different names over the years. In 2000 it was called the Reckless Handicap, from 2001 to 2006 it was the Marco Polo Handicap, from 2007 to 2009 the Phil Sullivan Handicap, from 2010 to 2014 the Strawberry Road Handicap and from 2015 it has been The Wayne Wilson.

Wayne Wilson called Queensland races for Radio TAB from the station’s inception in 1991 until his last call in 2013. He passed away in 2014 after a brave 15-year battle with cancer.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Charmmebaby (2022)

Multiple winners: Hopfgarten (2016 & 2018)

Fastest time (1600m): Enthusiast (2004) 1:33:50

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of The Wayne Wilson

Winners of past The Wayne Wilsons include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Antino Munhamek Skyman
2022 Charmmebaby Kubrick Kirwan’s Lane
2021 Ranier Kementari Kings Will Dream
2020 Victory Eight Gaulois Baccarat Baby
2019 Vinland Duca Valentinois Order Again
2018 Hopfgarten Ulmann Divine Unicorn
2017 Religify Crack Me Up Moher
2016 Hopfgarten Pajaro Amovatio
2015 Strawberry Boy Flamingo Star Epic
2014 Transporter Choice Bro Elmantosh
2013 Tokamak Someday Transporter
2012 Solzhenitsyn Firebolt Playaction
2011 Willy Jimmy St Germaine Frozone
2010 Our Lukas Rockdale Eire Of Magic
2009 Bareena Go Cart Our Lukas
2008 Rags To Riches Belmonte Majorca
2007 Atapi Legendary Man Our Lord Monty
2006 Smart And Mighty Spuruson Mitanni
2005 Spirit Of Tara Dezigna Tui Song
2004 Enthusiast Western Brace Wishart
2003 Inspire Warrior Trader Bails
2002 Adamantly Federal Agent The Kildare Kid
2001 Kenconcarne Cheverny Brave Prince
2000 Go Flash Go Camarena Sirec