Tesio Stakes Race Information

The Tesio Stakes is a 1600 metre handicap race for mares run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in late October. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Mares handicap, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Tesio Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Tesio Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tesio Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1988 when it was won by a mare called Voltage. Later on Voltage became the dam of 2007 Australasian Oaks winner Anamato. It became a Listed race in 1990 when it was won by Princess Pushy then from 1994 0nwards it has been a Group 3 race. The 1995 winner Our Marquise is out of a mare called Eight Carat who is also the mother of Octagonal. There were dead heats for the win  in 2007 and 2008. In 2007 Maslins Beach and Autumn Jeuney were locked in a battle in the home straight and crossed the line together, and in 2008 Miss Badoura and Bird Of Fire did the same thing plus there was a dead heat for third between Permission To Land and Princess Marizza.

It has been run under several different names over the years, including the Dalgety Breeders Plate in 1991-92, BMW Plate in 1993, the Tesio Stakes from 1994 to 2004. It was then called the Inglis Mile fr0m 2005 to 2008. and reverted back to the Tesio Stakes. In 2013 and 2014 it was named the Eliza Park International Stakes after the stud farm where Bel Esprit, the sire of Black Caviar stands, They also bred her mother Helsinge, The registered name of the race honours the famous Italian horse breeder Frederico Tesla (1869–1954). This is why the sponsors of the race are usually associated with thoroughbred breeding and selling.

The race is held On Cox Plate day.

Useful Facts

Multiple winners: Lady Lynette (2009 & 2010)

Fastest time (1600m): Princess Pushy (1990) 1:34:10

Interesting trivia: In 2007 there was a dead heat for first between Autumn Jeuney and Maslins Beach. In 2008 there was a dead heat for first (Bird Of Fire/Miss Badoura) and a dead heat for third (Permission To Land/Princess Marizza). In 1996 Eastern Princess was first home but laster lostthe race on a positive swab and Miss Margaret was declared the winner.

Past winners of the Tesio Stakes

Winners of past Tesio Stakes include Suavito (2014), Catkins (2013), Lady Lynette (2009/2010), Zanna (2003), Gentle Genius (2002), La Bella Dama (2001), Spectrum (1997), Miss Margaret (1996), Our Marquise (1995), Western Chorus (1991), Princess Pushy (1990) and Voltage (1988).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Wishlor Lass Thalassophile Osmose
2022 My Whisper Roots Sirileo Miss
2021 Flying Mascot Starelle Annavisto
2020 Sovereign Award I Am Eloquent Paradee
2019 Amangiri Seewhatshebrings Vanuatu
2018 Shoko Mamzelle Tess Princess Posh
2017 Lubiton Savapinski Invincibella
2016 Kaniana Rocket Commander Alaskan Rose
2015 Coronation Shallan Lucky Lago Ballet Suite
2014 Suavito Precious Gem You’re So Good
2013 Catkins Cameo Lake Sententia
2012 Star Of Giselle Tavarnelle Spirit Song
2011 Ocean Challenger Hi Belle Lady Lynette
2010 Lady Lynette Delta Gee Music Review
2009 Lady Lynette Moment In Time Pink Shimmer
2008 Bird Of Fire/Miss Badoura  dh Permission To Land/Princess Marizza  dh
2007 Autumn Jeuney/Maslins Beach  dh Game Serena
2006 Valkyrie Diva Benko Celtic Bloom
2005 Matras Hennessy Waltz Ballybleue
2004 Joy Of Flight Galvanized Loyal Lauren
2003 Zanna Sweet Corn My Fraarlein
2002 Gentle Genius Paris Heartbeat Rosa Marada
2001 La Bella Dama It’s Platonic Oregon Seal
2000 Oregon Seal Super Sequel Nova Clause