Sydney Stakes Race Information

The Sydney Stakes is a 1200 metre weight for age race run by the Australian Turf Club in October. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weights for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $2,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

Sydney Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Sydney Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Sydney Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal race over 5 furlongs at Randwick in 1968 when it was won by a horse called Academy Star. With the introduction of the metric system the distance became 1000m in 1972 and it remained at that distance up to 2005, apart from 2001 when it was run over 870 metres and the race had its first (and only) dead-heat between Pastime and Strabane. It was held as a Listed Race from 1978 to 2017 and in 2006 the distance was increased to 1100m, then in 2017 it was increased again to the current 1200m distance. In 2018 it was upgraded to a Group 3 Race. It has always been held at Randwick apart from 1983 when it was ran at Warwick Farm.

It was originally called the City Tattersall’s Lightning Handicap but was renamed the Sydney Stakes in 2017 when the distance was increased. The Everest, Australia’s richest prizemoney race, was introduced in 2017 at the same course and distance and is held on the same day. Since then the Sydney Stakes has effectively become a consolation sprint for the horses that didn’t secure a spot in The Everest. In 2018 Pierata won this race in a quicker time than Redzel won The Everest in.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: In Her Time (2017)

Multiple winners: Famous Seamus (2012 & 2013); Diamond Benny (1988 & 1989)

Fastest time (1200m): In Her Time (2017) 1:08:2

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza. Race not held in 2001.

Past winners of the Sydney Stakes

Winners of past Sydney Stakes include Pierata (2018), In Her Time (2017), Deep Field (2014), Famous Seamus (2012 & 2013), Shogun Lodge (2003), Identikit (1996), Sword (1995), Diamond Benny (1988 & 1989) and Kista (1973).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 I Am Me Airman Bella Nipotina
2022 Rocketing By In The Congo Weona Smartone
2021 Big Parade Standout Prime Candidate
2020 Trumbull Standout Signore Fox
2019 Deprive Champagne Cuddles Brutal
2018 Pierata Jungle Edge Clearly Innocent
2017 In Her Time Impending Ball Of Muscle
2016 Speith Kaepernick Le Cordon Bleu