Sunline Stakes Race Information

The Sunline Stakes is a 1600 metre weight for age race for fillies and mares run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in March. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, Fillies & mares 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Sunline Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Sunline Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Sunline Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Sunline Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1977 when it was won by Princess Veronica. It became a Listed race in 1981 and was run as the Diamond Jubilee Stakes over 1600m. In 1991 it was upgraded to a Group 3 race. In 1995 it was held at Flemington over 1523m. In 1996 it was upgraded to the current Group 2 status. In 2000 it was ran as the Anthea Crawford Stakes, then from 2001 onwards it has been the Sunline Stakes, In 2005 only it was held over 1500m.

Sunline Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; I Am A Star (2017)

Multiple winners: Spirit Song (2012 & 2013); Lough Neagh (1936 & 1938); Gigandra (1912 & 1913)

Fastest time (1600m): Rockets Galore (1991) 1:34:2

Matron Stakes & Sunline Stakes: Spanish Reef (2018); Noble Protector (2015); Like It Is (2007)

Interesting trivia: Only 4 fillies have ever won this race.

Past winners of the Sunline Stakes

Winners of past Sunline Stakes can go on to more mile races or race over further.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Eternal Flame Rumbled Again Campionessa
2023 Sirileo Miss Revolutionary Miss Deny Knowledge
2022 Shout The Bar Barb Raider Flying Mascot
2021 Quantum Mechanic Grand De Flora Scarlet Dream
2020 Mamzelle Tess Bam’s On Fire Fidelia
2019 Consensus Spanish Reef Kenedna
2018 Spanish Reef Samovare Flying Jess
2017 I Am A Star French Emotion First Seal
2016 Miss Rose De Lago Noble Protector Metaphorical
2015 Noble Protector Girl In Flight Marianne
2014 Tex’n Hurley Bippo No Bungus You’re So Good
2013 Spirit Song Lights Of Heaven Goldslick
2012 Spirit Song Lady Lynette Raspberries
2011 Nakaaya Lady Lynette Platinum Passion
2010 Zarita Princess Marizza Silvercitymiss
2009 Subtle Cove Youthful High Fifth Avenue Lady
2008 Laura’s Charm Illnois Girl Wayne’s Gold
2007 Like It Is Laura’s Charm Brockman’s Lass
2006 Candy Vale Plans Holy Bounty
2005 Beautiful Gem Umber Charmed Lady
2004 Sylvaner La Sirenuse Love’s Here
2003 Tickle My Kayano White Mist
2002 Spurn Tickle My It’s Platonic
2001 Flushed Calm Smytzer Shelbourne Lass
2000 Rose O’ War Lady Elsie Gold Crystal
1999 Vonanne Lady Elsie Rose Of Dane
1998 Burning Embers Cheval Place Miss Tessla
1997 Prefer An Angel Chlorophyll Vonanne
1996 Suma Peace Cliko Arctic Scent
1995 Snap Tristera Tristalove
1994 Not Related Pompeii Lady Brompton Cross
1993 Excited Angel Time Of My Life Mamzelle Perdu
1992 Acushla Marie Mamzelle Perdu Knight’s Contessa
1991 Rockets Galore Princess Pushy Berberia
1990 Marathon Star Lady Of Perfection Memphis Blues
1989 Boardwalk Angel Pray For Colleen Riva Gleam
1988 Bianco Flyer Sister Shirley Tjarra
1987 Silver Satellite Daily Spirit Goblet
1986 Deedle Flying Shoes Amalind
1985 Mrs. Fitzherbet Comerina Our Sophia
1984 Special To Me Walk With Me Fair Consul
1983 Kalimna Lemon Princess Sweet And Fast
1982 Lady Ice Peta Gay Galsaree
1981 Epillette Royal Paree Andromache
1980 Lada’s Dream Baraka Nambrook
1979 Just Landed Lada’s Dream Valley Of Georgia
1978  ** Race not run **
1977 Princess Veronica Golden Fantasy Vetsera