Silk Stocking Race Information

The Silk Stocking is a 1400 metre quality handicap race for fillies and mares run by the Gold Coast Turf Club in May. It is held at the Gold Coast as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, Fillies and mares
  • Track: Gold Coast Racecourse, Surfers Paradise, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

Silk Stocking Race History

See the 2024 Silk Stocking Preview and results.

See the 2023 Silk Stocking Preview and results.

See the 2022 Silk Stocking Preview and results.

Used to be over 1200m but was increased to 1400m in 2021.

Held at Sunshine Coast in 2023 while redevelopment of the Gold Coast track was completed, then held there again in 2024 due to significant rain.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win: With A Promise (2017)

Fastest time (1200m): Anatola (2018) 1:08:41

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Silk Stocking

Winners of past Silk Stockings include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Thalassophile Poetic Drama Princess Rhaenys
2023 Essonne Renouf Tycoon Evie
2022 Dzsenifer April Rain Cafe Royal
2021 Yamazaki Wonderful Riri Gem Of Scotland
2020 Love You Lucy Fiesta Jen Rules
2019 Demerara Quilista Cymbalism
2018 Anatola Test The World Sylpheed
2017 With A Promise Nancy Elegant Composure
2016 Eloping Miss Cover Girl Zestful
2015 I’ve Got The Looks Estonian Princess Sarisara
2014 Srikandi La Pieta Platinum Rocker
2013 Detours Karuta Queen Punch On
2012 Mascareri Just Been Lucky Beethog
2011 Beethog Casholet Swiss Rose
2010 Graceful Anna Kanzan Conquering Queen
2009 Belong To Many Court Russeting
2008 Calchris
 *dead-heat 1st Strange Lady
2007 Nova Star Funlove Coolroom Candidate
2006 Princess Margaret Coolroom Candidate Storm Signal
2005 Au Chocolat Star Folly Wombalano Belle
2004 Best French British Lion Eminence Grise
2003 Feelers Bumptious Magique Sky
2002 Heritiere West Ward Card Queen
2001 Air She Goes Crestfallen Ceremonial Dancer
2000 Nova Serrure Strange Aura Annalea