SAJC Sires Produce Stakes Race Information

The SAJC Sires Produce Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in May. It is held at Morphettville on South Australian Derby day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $127,250
  • Date: Saturday 13 May 2023

SAJC Sires Produce Stakes Race History

See the 2023 SAJC Sires’Produce Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 SAJC Sires’Produce Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1945 and was won by a horse called Norwich.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Biscayne Bay (2021)

Fastest time (1400m): Go Indy Go (2014) 1:23:76

Interesting trivia: Trainer Leon Macdonald has won this race 7 times with the first being in 1983 and the latest in 2023

Past winners of the SAJC Sires Produce Stakes

Winners of past SAJC Sires Produce Stakes include Rebel Raider (2008), Anamato (2006), Clay Fighter (198), Kingston Spirit (1992).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Air Assault Nodachi Harley’n’rose
2022 Twin Stars Hope At Hand Miss Dunsford
2021 Biscayne Bay Blushing Tycoon Cloudy
2020 Ringbolt Violinist Crown Mint
2019 She Shao Fly Hinchpin Barcali
2018 Tequila Time Fundamentalist Secret Blaze
2017 Time Awaits Broadband Casino Fourteen
2016 Flying Jess Smart Manoeuvre Morvada
2015 The Grey Flash Petracca Ozi Choice
2014 Go Indy Go Felarof Feels Like Home
2013 Modern Tsar Murtle Turtle Bulbula
2012 Molto Bene Chosen Moment Just Forget It
2011 Cute Emily Win For Wilson Cash Bound
2010 Stirling Grove The Ruffian Safe
2009 Silent Surround Imacruiser Bint Maher
2008 Rebel Raider Bledisloe Wookah
2007 Bantry Bay Down Under Boy The Original
2006 Anamato Furio Macau Causeway
2005 Isanami Dai Ichi Spinney
2004 Calorific Light Shine Ulysses
2003 Under The Bridge Dane Belltar Pay Keys
2002 Lashed Hydrometer Dextrous
2001 Li Lo Lill Tully Thunder Saturday Fever
2000 Ez All Time High White Hart Lane
1999 Smytzer’s Rivalry Diatribe Troubadour
1998 Clay Fighter Grand Archway Oaks Dream
1997 Umrum Spot Of Magic Iguassu
1996 Litmus Prince Miasma Rustic Dream
1995 Niarchos Zuccherino Castlereagh Run
1994 Zoffoff Secretaire Destined
1993 Trivia Lass Lets Cut Loose Sportsbeat
1992 Kingston Spirit Dhokeep Manribo
1991 Charleston Party Extra Sharp Talent Lover
1990 Abandoned War Durbridge Trissete
1989 Interstellar Hot Arch Double Gin
1988 Almurtajaz Marsolde Imposing Time
1987 Cindy’s Appeal Shellls Glorious Way
1986 El Vaquero Why Julie Crescidium
1985 Tristabelle Caledonian Boy Dexterous
1984 Unique Dancer Marfoota You Be The Judge
1983 Taminor Just A Commoner Rose Of Dudley
1982 Aree Lad Grand Era Dam Burst
1981 Top Of The Ladder Man Of Straw Royal Radiance
1980 Who Can Say Oriental Rulder Darado Boy
1979 Tell Fibs Aries Chief Coronation Prince
1978 Count Babylon Pacific Point Goodwood Lad
1977 Kiwi Princess Stormy Rex Hartbalm
1976 Sir Sahib Fearella Dear Boy
1975 Rondelay Galena Boy Maybe Mahal
1974 Zasu Rainburst Cap D’Antibes
1973 Bush Win Laird’s Brae Forest Boy
1972 Roman Interlude Samist Delicious
1971 Odysseus Royal Orphan Kildare Pride
1970 Eleazar Message Regal Heir
1969 Cobbermine Fiona Bysantium
1968 Always There Alrello With Respect
1967 Vitalis Summer Locke Man Of Merit
1966 Farmer’s Daughter Vintage Poet Chocolatier
1965 Far Hills Glensharold Diolen
1964 Yangtze Red Brass Coronation Idol
1963 Sunny Coronation Contempler Gully Winds
1962 Proud Miss Red Metal Lady Fontaine
1961 Makmore Mazak Queen Dassie
1960 Beau Sabreur Kadazan Jet Beau
1959 Royal Artist Goglio Top Peal
1958 Jordan Planetoid Sand Cheval
1957 Cherete Mighty Moon Bomba
1956 Newstone Trois Model Hilo Star
1955 Wine Lover Ralkon Guncotton
1954 Fair Moon Wine Master Jungle Baron
1953 Introibo Munroe Vychan
1952 Cellar Master Romany Star Bonny Dash
1951 Beau Cavalier Dassie Elector
1950 Miss Damper Deck High Dunscorie
1949 Regal Gem Illingerry Mission Time
1948 Parlez Vous Slovenia Brain’s trust
1947 Comedy Prince Cherish Beau Gem
1946 Conservator Why Hurry Cool Toi
1945 Norwich Selesto Persian Chief