Red Roses Stakes Race Information

The Red Roses Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington on Oaks Day as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Thursday 9 November 2023

Red Roses Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Red Roses Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Red Roses Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Red Roses Stakes Preview and results

The race began as a Listed race over 1200m in 1983 until 2013. In 2014 it was upgraded to the current Group 3 status and the distance was reduced to 1100m. It was known as the Red Roses Stakes from 1983 to 1993 but has had many sponsorship names since then including the Cadbury Roses Stakes, Aquaveta Stakes, Schweppervescence Stakes, TCL Electronics Stakes and Gucci Stakes.

It returned to 1200m but is now 1100m again.

Fillies can come via many different lead-up races including the Listed William Crockett Stakes, and the Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Onemorezeta (2014) 1:03:19

Interesting trivia: 2019 winner Sisstar is a sister to Sunlight.

Past winners of the Red Roses Stakes

Winners of past Red Roses Stakes include Sisstar (2019), Secret Agenda (2015), Shamal Wind (2012), Curtana (2010), Gold Edition (2006), Tahni Girl (2004), The Big Chill (2001), Wyndham Special (2000), Isca (1998), Dantelah (1997), Princess D’Or (1994), Gatana (1992), Wrap Around (1990), Goodwood Lady (1985) and Nouvelle Star (1983).


Year Winner Second Third
2023 Mumbai Muse Saltaire Appin Girl
2022 Aitch Two Oh La Danseuse Rouge BayThirteen
2021 Flying Evelyn A Very Fine Red Seradess
2020 Written Beauty Marboosha Celestine
2019 Sisstar Niccovi California Zimbol
2018 Bleu Roche Causeway Girl Meryl
2017 Jorda I Am Excited Smart Coupe
2016 Spright Super Too Miss Wonderland
2015 Secret Agenda Tempt Me Not Lake Geneva
2014 Onemorezeta Eloping Tawteen
2013 Melrose Place Sense of Hite Fare Well
2012 Shamal Wind Brave Soul Isabella Snowflake
2011 Emmalene Miss Stellabelle Anise