Randwick City Stakes Race Information

The Randwick City Stakes is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in early March. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Randwick City Stakes Race History

The race was first run in 1947 and was won by a horse called Air Flare. It became a Group 3 race from 1979. Prior to 2006 it was mainly ran at Canterbury and was called the Canterbury Cup. In 2012 it was downgraded to the current Listed status.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Hiyaam (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Royal Stream (1954); Filly – Analie (1973)

Multiple winners: Ready O’ready (1977 & 1978)

Fastest time (2000m): Libran (2016) 2:01:48

Interesting trivia: 2001 winner Steel Phoenix survived a protest from Asia.

Past winners of the Randwick City Stakes

Winners of past Randwick City Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Mount Popa Sacramento Collide
2020 Shared Ambition Youngstar Wu Gok
2019 Hiyaam Shraaoh Emperors Way
2018 Emperors Way Alward Singing
2017 Astronomos Cafe Society Montauk
2016 Libran Allergic Maurus
2015 Phrases Self Sense Pajaro
2014 Junoob Opinion The Offer
2013 Tremec Permit Gazza Guru
2012 Maules Creek Herculian Prince Permit
2011 Saint Encosta Alexander of Hales Scottish Border
2010 The Embassy Alexander of Hales Deltona
2009 Newport Enzedex Eagle Lang
2008 No Wine No Song Littorio Fooram
2007 Spirit Of Tara Railings Vanquished
2006 Dizelle Not Fussy Oh Oklahoma
2005 Winning Belle Mahtoum Saturday Fever
2004 Zabarra Beale Street Comforts
2003 Bedouin Heeby Reiby Manner Hill
2002 Kaapgun Cheverny Time Off
2001 Steel Phoenix Asia Pasta Express
2000 Edward Brae Pasta Express Bombast