R N Irwin Stakes Race Information

The R N Irwin Stakes is an 1100 metre weight-for-age race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in April. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Open WFA
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 April 2024

R N Irwin Stakes Race History

See the 2024 R N Irwin Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 R N Irwin Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 R N Irwin Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1955 as a Principal Race over 6 furlongs (about 1200m) under handicap conditions at Morphettville where it was won by Never Rest, In 1975 it became a weight-for-age race and the distance was reduced to 1100 metres. In 1980 it became a Group 2 race and the distance was increased to 1450 metres for 1980 and 1981 when it was held at Victoria Park, 1200 metres from 1982 to 1985 and back to 1100 metres from 1986. In 1991 it was downgraded to the current Group 3 status. In 2001 it was held over 1000 metres at Victoria Park and in 2002 it was held over 1000m at Cheltenham Park before returning to 1100 metres at Morphettville from 2003 onwards.

It has been run as the RN Irwin Stakes from the beginning apart from being called after sponsors for two years – the German Arms Hotel Stakes in 2007 and the CMA Recycling Stakes in 2008. It was originally run in January but in 2006 moved to March as the Adelaide Cup carnival reorganised dates, then in 2012 it was moved to April where it can be used as a lead-up to the Goodwood Handicap.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Dainty Tess (2018)

Last 3YO to win:  Filly – Regal Kiss (2002); C&G – Kenvain (1994);

Multiple winners: Stand By Me (2001 & 2004); Scorn Bold (1996 & 1997); Fileur (1968 & 1970)

Fastest time (1100m): Sports (1999) and Diplomatic Force (2009) 1:02:45

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the R N Irwin Stakes

Winners of past R N Irwin Stakes include Super Elegant (2005), Bomber Bill (2003), Sports (1999), La Baraka (1998), Hero Wind ( 1995), Kenvain (1994), Beau George (1991), Redelva (1988), Rory’s Jester (1986), Stormy Rex (1979), Toltrice (1974), Idolou (1973) Eastern Court (1972), Sandera (1971), Fileur (1968 & 1970).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Benedetta Climbing Star Press Down
2023 Kallos Mileva Another Award
2022 Bella Vella Instant Celebrity Dexelation
2021 Kemalpasa Humma Humma Dexelation
2020 Gytrash Sunlight Home Of The Brave
2019 Hard Empire Steel Frost I’m Wesley
2018 Dainty Tess Viddora Secret Agenda
2017 Viddora Illustrious Lad I Am Gypsy
2016 Nostradamus I Am Gypsy Runway Star
2015 Daytona Grey Riziz The Messina Nymph
2014 Driefontein Platelet Just Discreet
2013 Kulgrinda Platelet Avoid Lightning
2012 We’re Gonna Rock First Command Catapulted
2011 Avenue Diplomatic Force Morgan Dollar
2010 Augusta Proud Commanding Hope Cerberus Gal
2009 Diplomatic Force Let Go Thommo Blahnik
2008 Here De Angels Flying Object Terango
2007 Flying Object Sipowicz Mt Billy
2006 Leone Chiara Shablec Swiss Vault
2005 Super Elegant Bomber Bill Chatelaine
2004 Stand By Me Cosmic Strike Skewiff
2003 Bomber Bill Regal Kiss Crest Of Gold
2002 Regal Kiss Suit Cosmic Strike
2001 Stand By Me Lezayre Flurrys Gem
2000 Suit My Millenium Lord Kingston
1999 Sports St Clemens Belle Amber Gaze
1998 La Baraka Will Fly Lord Shiraz
1997 Scorn Bold Excel Pilot Magic Ribbon
1996 Scorn Bold Voguessa Stealing Heaven
1995 Hero Wind St Covet Fighter Bay
1994 Kenvain Tarare St Rory
1993 Hot Arch Better Loosen Up Fappianos Girl
1992 Street Ruffian Zephyr Art Squire Gray
1991 Beau George Steel Sculptress Prince Anton
1990 Leica Western Worthy Regent Heavenly View
1989 Jet Fighter Spirit Of Emily Storm Wedge
1988 Redelva Kaapstad Cameronic
1987 Lord Galaxy Manaura Romantic Red
1986 Rory’s Jester Pam Phile Game Set Match
1985 Red Tempo Copper Rocket Tearon
1984 Copper Rocket French Current Mr Zeisel
1983 Montrose Lass English Wonder Mr Zeisel
1982 Galleon Oriental Ruler Montrose Lass
1981 Ducatoon Javea Shelbourne
1980 Domax Minuetto Emblem Boy
1979 Stormy Rex King’s Helmet Minuetto
1978 Lipman Bonfield Maybe Star
1977 Silent Gift Bonfield Carbari
1976 High Value Keep The Change How Now
1975 Red Loam Storm Duke Silent Gift
1974 Toltrice Silent Gift Friar’s Joy
1973 Idolou Eastern Court Chiming
1972 Eastern Court Griglo Ophir
1971 Sanderae Bronze Helmet Steel Helmet
1970 Fileur Countess Wynyard Tarompa
1969 Steel Helmet Master Kildare Jervois Mac
1968 Fileur Rain Jewel Ottana
1967 Sunny Coronation Agrifo Roman Duo
1966 Contempler Grey Hostess Super Alton
1965 Millionairess L’Orage Boy Lord Matrice
1964 Naelyn Miss Daybreak Splash
1963 Benibasha Naelyn Town Crier
1962 Kelvin Valley Norden Olympiad
1961 Rain King Goglio Church History
1960 Bomba Goglio Vintage King
1959 Power Duke Bomba Hunter’s Sight
1958 Sleep Tight All Dust St Kevin
1957 In Transit Scenic Star Stone Dust
1956 Columbo King Greenie Stoneleigh
1955 Never Rest Joda Boy Tesmic