R J Peters Stakes Race Information

The R J Peters Stakes is a 1500 metre open handicap race for horses three-years-old and up run by the Western Australian Turf Club in November. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 November 2023

R J Peters Stakes Race History

See the 2023 R J Peters Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 R J Peters Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Searchin’ Roc’s (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Good Morgan (1975); Filly – Venetian Princess (1976)

Multiple winners: Norval Boy (1963 & 1964); Count Sputnik (1961 & 1962); Gay Gypsy (1935 & 1936); Einga (1929 & 1930).

Fastest time (1500m): Vega Magic (2016) 1:03:55

Interesting trivia: The top mare Burgess Queen ran 2nd in this race twice – behind Belinda’s Star (1977) and Prince Brighton (1978).

Past winners of the R J Peters Stakes

Winners of past RJ Peters Stakes include  Mississippi Delta (2019), Scales Of Justice (2016), God Has Spoken (2010), El Presidente (2007), Finito (2004), Modem (2003), Old Fashion (2001), Northerly (2000), Jacks Or Better (1997), Vows (1992), Heron Bridge (1982), Tulip Town (1980), Embasadora (1979), Starglow (1973), Norval Boy (1963 & 1964) and Gay Gypsy (1935 & 1936).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Mojo Rhythm Alsephina Let’s Galahvant
2022 Searchin’ Roc’s Let’s Galahvant Devoted
2021 Kissonallforcheeks Son Of Bacchus Cockney Crew
2020 Truly Great Flow Moschard
2019 Mississippi Delta Platoon Tamasa
2018 Freo Cappo D’oro Taxagano
2017 Properantes Royal Star Variation
2016 Scales Of Justice Bass Strait Ideal Image
2015 Hazzabeel Battle Hero Tower Of Lonhro
2014 Bass Strait Respondent Trading Day
2013 Kerrific Elite Belle Rohan
2012 Maschino Niblick Mcscar
2011 Westriver Kevydonn Tranquility Grey Monarch
2010 God Has Spoken Ranger Impressive Jeuney
2009 Elliotto Colour Correct Grand Nirvana
2008 Famous Roman Gilded Venom Pillar Of Hercules
2007 El Presidente Glory Hunter Royal Lott
2006 Always A Devil Kia Ora Miss Sir Chalmers
2005 Rescuer Manjar Free At Last
2004 Finito Crown Prosecutor Stockie’s Yarn
2003 Modem Mogul Kensyl Bay
2002 Kensyl Bay Old Fashion Tumeric
2001 Old Fashion Old Comrade Papillion
2000 Northerly Special Jeste Merry Minka
1999 Sister Patricia Society Miss Umah
1998 All The Aces Machine Gun Tom Tool Time
1997 Jacks Or Better Bar Dreamer On A Swing
1996 Bold Extreme Bar Dreamer Gilandane
1995 Quadripedante Sarina’s Son Cranky Tikit
1994 Sammy The Bull Island Morn Top Lunch
1993 Classy Dresser Asian Incline Taken By Storm
1992 Vows Oh Pretty Woman Dynamor
1991 Future Edition Blonde Jev Medicine Kid
1990 Jungle Hero Medicine Kid Kama Dancer
1989 Dual’s Brute Tackle The Pak Concorde Flyerv
1988 Bowie Ill Ferrari Sky Filou
1987 Denim Dancer Post Pipper Power Prince
1986 Western Pago Jungle Dawn Coal Pak
1985 Haulpak’s Image Concrete Coal Pak
1984 Eastern Temple Casshoney After Dawn
1983 Argentine Gold Lord Numanac Hanging In
1982 Heron Bridge Echoes Of Spring Nitro Lad
1981 Cordroy Latin Saint National Boy
1980 Tulip Town Scarlet Gem Magic Gypsy
1979 Embassadora Asian Beau Grey Sapphire
1978 Prince Brighton Burgess Queen Junction Girl
1977 Belinda’s Star
1976 Venetian Princess
1975 Good Morgan Ganamedes Volatile
1974 Merry Heart My Friend Paul Gilt Pattern
1973 Starglow All Legal Lady Manx
1972 Acello Mikado Early Farewell
1971 Royal Spring Star Glitter Bullitt
1970 My Juliet Battle Chime Kerim Bay
1969 Cantanof Super Sam Chenech
1968 Fair Dollar La Trice Gay Sabrina
1967 El Nisir Action Station Cantanof
1966 Tudor Mak Check Up Port Jackson
1965 Port Jackson The Burglar Little Roderick
1964 Norval Boy Big Bob Count Sputnik
1963 Norval Boy Tantrum Young Rego
1962 Count Sputnik Astra Vista Big Bob
1961 Count Sputnik Coco Jack O’Spades
1960 Olympiad Forst Orl Kuantan
1959  ** Race not run **
1958  ** Race not run **