Princess Stakes Race Information

The Princess Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-old fillies run by the Brisbane Racing Club in April. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 April 2024

Princess Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Princess Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Princess Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Princess Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run as a Listed race over 1600m at Eagle Farm on 19 April 2008 and was won by Song Of Hope trained by Dersleigh Forster and ridden by Dale Evans. In 2015 it was held over 2000m at Doomben, then it was over 1600m at Sunshine Coast in 2016, 2018 and 2019 and 1600m at Doomben in 2017 and 2020. In 2021 it was 1630m at Doomben.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1600m): Vanna Girl (2001) 1:35:88

Leading jockeys: Damien Browne with 2 wins (Improvise 2018; Bianca Jewel 2011).

Leading trainers: Steven O’Dea with 3 wins (Candika 2017; Fantisha 2013; Tagus 2012)

Interesting trivia: In 2019 the meeting was abandoned after 7 of the 9 scheduled races had been run and the Princess Stakes was moved from Saturday 20 April to the Sunshine Coast meeting on Sunday 21 April.

Past winners of the Princess Stakes

Winners of past Princess Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Waikato Girl Amazonian Lass Firestorm
2023 Street Gossip Madame Odette Wolverine
2022 Canadian Dancer Teranga Mokulua
2021 Easifar Tycoon Evie Deep Sceiva
2020 Vanna Girl Celestial Falls Al Jood
2019 Baccarat Baby Word For Word Ceol Na Mara
2018 Improvise La Scopa Skate To Paris
2017 Candika Prada Miss Siren’s Fury
2016 Look To The Stars Queen Of Wands Sahara Siren
2015 Ballet Suite Bohemian Lily Zarzali
2014 Best Yet To Come Quest For Peace Little Bit Ditsy
2013 Fantisha Catalonia Germayne Lass
2012 Hidden Jewel Rocksan Tycoon’s Heart
2011 Bianca Jewel Hidden Kisses Wabeel
2010 Devoirs Acouplamas Free To Roam
2009 Moulin Lady La Bella Luisa Returntosender
2008 Song Of Hope Pentacity Hindsight