Premiere Stakes Race Information

The Premiere Stakes is a 1200 metre weight for age race run by the Australian Turf Club held in early October. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 October 2020

Premiere Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Premiere Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; In Her Time (2017)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – Integra (1990); Filly – no filly has won the Premiere Stakes

Multiple winners: Mr Innocent (1999 & 2000); Joanne (1991 & 1992)

Fastest time (1200m): Santa Ana Lane (2018) 1:07:4

Missile Stakes & Premiere Stakes: German Chocolate (2007); Spark Of Life (2004); Legal Agent (1996); Klokka (1993);  Joanne (1991-92}; Campaign King (1987)

Interesting trivia: In 2004 the Golden Slipper winner Dance Hero came second to Shania Dane.

Past winners of the Premiere Stakes

Winners of past Premiere Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races. Most winners are four and five year olds and it is not won by a mare very often. Notable winners include Happy Clapper, Hauraki, Lucia Valentina, Shaftesbury Avenue, Imposing, Wenona Girl and Amounis.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Libertini Classique Legend Deprive
2019 Brutal Home Of The Brave Classique Legend
2018 Santa Ana Lane Shoals In Her Time
2017 In Her Time English Clearly Innocent
2016 Takedown Our Boy Malachi Danish Twist