Pam O’Neill Stakes Race Information

The Magic Millions Pam O’Neill Stakes is a 1600 metre set weight s plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Brisbane Racing Club Club in May. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions:  Set Weights plus Penalties, 3YO & upwards, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 May 2023

Queensland Sapphire Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Pam O’Neill Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Pam O’Neill Stakes Preview and results.

In 2022 rain caused it to be rescheduled twice and it was eventiully held in early July instead of May.

previously known as the Glenlogan Park Stakes

Has changed in distance and ran at different times in the calendar.

From 2021 the Group 3 Queensland Sapphire Stakes is now defunct and runs as the Magic Millions National Classic, which does not hold Black-Type status.

The Magic Millions National Classic (formerly the Queensland Sapphire Stakes) is a relatively new race run during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival in early June on Queensland Oaks Day. The event offers $500,000 and replaces the race formerly known as the Glenlogan Park Stakes, which was contested over 1300m.

The Magic Millions National Classic is now a mile race contested at weight-for-age and takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Queensland Oaks for the three-year-old fillies and the Group 2 Moreton Cup for Stradbroke hopefuls.

Since the change of name and conditions, the event is no longer confused with the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes (1200m) for fillies and mares held at Randwick in April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Open only to fillies and mares, the event serves as a potential lead-up into the $600,000 Group 1 Tatt’s Tiara (1400m) also run at WFA at Eagle Farm a fortnight later.

The Pam O’Neill Stakes is a Group 3 race conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club at Doomben in Brisbane.

The race was registered in 1985 and has since carried many sponsor names but has been run as the Glenlogan Park Stakes since 2002 with the backing of Glenlogan Park, one of Queensland’s leading thoroughbred stud farms.

It was known as the Queensland Sapphire Stakes in 2020 but in 2021 changed to the Pam O’Neill Stakes.

The race is named after the trailblazing rider who was granted a license in 1979, after becoming the first female rider in Australia. She rode more than 400 winners and even rode in Japan. He campaigned to be given the right to ride and her efforts were eventually rewarded.

The Pam O’Neill Stakes was run under set weight and penalty conditions and traditionally over 1350m at Doomben. From 1985 to 2006 it was run under handicap conditions. It is back to a mile now.

From 1985 until 2009 the Glenlogan Park Stakes was a Listed Race and has been Group 3 since 2010.

The 2022 Pam O’Neill Stakes was run over 1600m for prizemoney of $150,000.

Other notable winners of the Glenlogan Park Stakes include Princess Tiber, Rich Pageantry, Seawinne, Amber, Timeless Winds, Stella Maree, Suzy Grey, Beautiful Gem, Ortensia, Wealth Princess, Srikandi, Peace Force, Eckstein and Savatiano.

The 2021 Pam O’Neill Stakes was won by Nudge from Yamazaki and Paradee

Run over 1,600 metres, the Magic Millions National Classic is now a non-Black Type race taking place at Eagle Farm Racecourse in late May or early June during the popular Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival on Queensland Oaks Day.

As of 2022 it replaces the defunct Group 3 Queensland Sapphire Stakes, which was also formerly known as the Glenlogan Park Stakes and run as a set weights race run over 1300m. In 2020 the distance was increased to 1600m conditions changed to weight-for-age.

With the renaming, the Magic Millions National Classic is also now no longer confused with the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes (1200m) for fillies and mares held each April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

As of 2022 the Queensland Sapphire Stakes offers a lucrative $500,000 in prize money and serves as a good lead-up into the Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara for the fillies and mares in mid-late June.

Notable winners of the race now run as the Magic Millions National Classic include: Ortensia (2009), the following year’s Tatt’s Tiara winner Srikandi (2014) and Godolphin’s Group 1 champion Savatiano (2019).

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win:

Multiple winners:

Fastest time (1600m):

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Pam O’Neill Stakes

Winners of past Queensland Sapphire Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Frumos Princess Rhaenys Osmose
2022 Tycoon Evie Zing She’s The Gift
2021 Nudge Yamazaki Rocha Clock
2020 Sure Knee Krone Baccarat Baby
2019 Savatiano Quilista Eckstein
2018 Pedrena Invincibella Schism
2017 Eckstein Egyptian Symbol Sold For Song
2016 Ghisoni Cradle Me Beatniks
2015 Peace Force Solicit Tukiyo
2014 Srikandi Belle De Coeur Platinum Rocker
2013 Sookie Bound To Blush Diademe
2012 Wealth Princess Sophie’s Spirit Alltherightmoves
2011 Kanzan Zero Rock Returntosender
2010 Wealth Princess Jerezana Flying Tessie
2009 Ortensia Belong To Many Russeting
2008 Quizzical Lady Chinchilla Rose Seconde
2007 Storm Signal Jazzella Reverenza
2006 Countess Bathory La Sizeranne Freeroller
2005 Beautiful Gem Pentelikon Wasimah
2004 Martique Fair Embrace Star Of Flight
2003 Suzy Grey Feelers Golden Snitch
2002 Paris Heartbeat Snow Hero Hot Riff
2001 Classic Cliche Citichy Be Cool
2000 Stella Maree Classic Cliche Crestfallen
1999 Chiming Lass
1998 Razor Blade
1997 Timeless Winds
1996 Amber
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille
1994 Seawinne
1993 Rich Pageantry
1992 Blushing Bijou
1991 Morning Lover
1990 Our Today
1989 La Posette
1988 Marmie’s Girl
1987 Call Me Biddy
1986 Dame Du Siecle
1985 Princess Tiber