Ottawa Stakes Race Information

The Ottawa Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-old fillies run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November on Oaks day. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO fillies
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Thursday 9 November 2023

Ottawa Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Ottawa Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Darley Ottawa Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Ottawa Stakes Preview and results

The race was first held in 1978 as a principal race over 1000m when it was won by a filly called Stage Hit. In 1979 it was made a Listed race then in 1980 it was held over 1100m and from 1981 it was over 1200m, It was not held from 1986 to 1990. In 1991 it was returned to the original 1000m, and it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status from 2013.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1000m): Villa Verde (2012) 0:56:7

Interesting trivia: 2013 winner Oakleigh Girl was by Oakleigh Plate winner Snitzel out of  Oakleigh Plate winner Miss Kournikova. Race not run between 1986 and 1990.

Past winners of the Ottawa Stakes

Winners of past Ottawa Stakes include Antelucan (2014), Oakleigh Girl (2013), Villa Verde (2012), Rostova (2008), Hips Don’t Lie (2007), Rinky Dink (2002), True Jewels (2000), Tennessee Midnight (1999), Bright Light (1995), Tennessee Magic (1994), Lady Jakeo (1992), Beach Gown (1984), Catalina Queen (1983) and Specify (1978)

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Karavas Eneeza Arabian Summer
2022 Charm Stone Empress Of Wonder Hell Queen
2021 See You In Heaven Satin Love Bohemian Daisy
2020 Dosh Nice For What Butter Blonde
2019 Aryaaf Muntaseera Marchena
2018 Bella Rosa Lankan Star Champagne Boom
2017 Setsuna Roobeena Aristocratic Miss
2016 Invincible Star Lucky Louie Madeenaty
2015 Concealer Prompt Response Missrock
2014 Antelucan Thurlow Dagny
2013 Oakleigh Girl Top Dolly Singularity
2012 Villa Verde Purrific Thump
2011 Applegate Snitzerland Alezan Thunder
2010 Spectrolite Military Grace Dinner Date
2009 She’s Got Gears Shaaheq Crystal Lily
2008 Rostova I’m A Smarty Pants Dancescape
2007 Hips Don’t Lie Marveen Emma Princess
2006 Royal Asscher Beauty School Love’s Great
2005 Follow The Till Satin Robes Catechuchu
2004 Red Hot Mama Sharna Myst Jestajewel
2003 Flying Firebird Little Chloe Courtney’s Cuddles
2002 Rinky Dink Arena Star Lanquin
2001 Flashed Che Bella Mia Fuji Dancer
2000 True Jewels Twin Peaks Karla Keys
1999 Tennessee Midnight Foxtrot Miss Denmark