Northam Stakes Race Information

The Northam Stakes is a 1300 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Northam Racing Club in early May. It is held at Northam as the feature event of the meeting..

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Northam Racecourse, Northam, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Sunday 5 May 2024

Northam Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Northam Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Northam Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Northam Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as the Northam Sprint over 1300m in 2007 when it was won by a horse named Certain Gold. In 2009 it was reduced to the current 1100m distance. In 2012 it became a Listed race and was renamed the Northam Stakes. In 2018 it was upgraded to its current Group 3 Status. In 2023 the distance was increased to 1300m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Fabergino (2020)

Multiple winners: Magnifisio (2014 & 2016)

Fastest time (1100m): Rock Magic (2019) 1:01:2

Interesting trivia: Run at Ascot in 2020.

Past winners of the Northam Stakes

Winners of past Northam Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Western Empire Mood Swings Red Can Man
2023 Dom To Shoot Comfort Me Red Can Man
2022 Elite Street Red Can Man Laverrod
2021 Cup Night Rock Magic Money Matters
2020 Fabergino Flirtini Electric Light
2019 Rock Magic Electric Light Durendal
2018 Battle Hero Durendal Madassa
2017 First Among Equals Madassa Battle Hero
2016 Magnifisio Dawn Approach De Andes
2015 Dawn Approach Shining Knight Rock Magic
2014 Magnifisio Travinator Honest Lies
2013 Beach Express Right Time Cavallo Pazzo
2012 Barakey Cavallo Pazzo Zester
2011 Power Princess Liquidation Blacksmith
2010 Kid Choisir Vain Raider Oroya Gold
2009 Vain Raider Beat The Storm Lachino
2008 Money Exchange Over Lock Far Horizons
2007 Certain Gold Stringmaster Dee Picked