MSS Security Sprint Race Information

The MSS Security Sprint is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Tuesday 11 November 2023

MSS Security Sprint Race History

It was first held as a Listed race over 1200m in 2011 when it was won by Facile Tigre. It is run as the MSS Security Sprint but the registered race name is the Always Welcome Stakes.

Lead-up races include The Kosciuszko, Group 2 Caulfield Sprint, Group 3 Northwood Plume Stakes and Listed Caulfield Village Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Teleplay  (2014)

Multiple winners: none

Fastest time (1200m): Richie’s Vibe (2013) 1:08:70

Leading jockeys: Damien Oliver with 2 wins (Tactical Advantage 2019; Richie’s Vibe 2013).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the MSS Security Sprint

Winners of past MSS Security Sprints include horses that go on to race at Group level.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 General Beau Parisal It’sourtime
2022 Vespertine Shelby Sixtysix Crestani
2021 Quantico Sirius Suspect Prime Candidate
2020 Exhilarates The Astrologist Sirius Suspect
2019 Tactical Advantage Holbien Milwaukee
2018 Teleplay Moonlover Holbien
2017 Ocean Embers Faatinah I Thought So
2016 Flippant Faatinah Supreme Effort
2015 Sea Lord Gregers The Monstar
2014 Reparations Office Bearer Final Crescendo
2013 Richie’s Vibe Sea Lord Pago Rock
2012 Unpretentious Altar Excellantes
2011 Facile Tigre Top Drop Parables