Caulfield Sprint Race Information

The Caulfield Sprint is a 1000 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is run at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 17 October 2020

Caulfield Sprint Race History

Coming soon,

Caulfield Sprint Facts

Last mare to win; Miss Leonidas (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Sepoy (2011); Filly – no filly has won the Caulfield Sprint

Multiple winners: Toledo (1997 & 1998)

Fastest time (1000m): Snitty Kitty (2017) 0:56:2

Fastest time (1100m): Jet Spur (2005) 1:02:10

Caulfield Sprint & Salinger Stakes: Eclair Choice (2015); Rubitano (2002); River Rough (1984)

Interesting trivia: In 2014 and 2015 both races were dead heats.

Past winners of the Caulfield Sprint

Winners of past Caulfield Sprints include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Graff Fabergino Crystal Dreamer
2019 Miss Leonidas God Of Thunder Malibu Style
2018 Eduardo She Knows Bons Away
2017 Snitty Kitty Super Too Faatinah
2016 Our Boy Malach Faatinah Lankan Rupee