Miss Andretti Stakes Race Information

The Miss Andretti Stakes is an 1100 metre handicap race run by the West Australian Turf Club in early January. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Handicap, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 January 2024

Miss Andretti Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Miss Andretti Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Miss Andretti Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held over 1400m in  November 1993 and gradually moved to earlier in the spring to October in 2001 then September in 2007. It was known as the Ruabon Sprint up to 2000 when it was held over 1400m and then as the Ruabon Stakes from 2001 when it became a 1200m race. Miss Andretti won this race in 2005. After the September 2008 running it was moved to the autumn and was next held in April 2010 when it was renamed the Miss Andretti Stakes, meaning it was not run in 2009. The race was moved to January in 2014 and has remained there ever since. In 2016 the distance was reduced to the current 1100m.

In recent years the Summer Scorcher on Perth Cup day has been the major lead-up race .

In 2204 the race was scheduled for Saturday 13th January at Ascot but the meeting was abandoned due to extreme heat and this race was rescheduled on Wednesday 17 January 2024 at the Pinjarra Park meeting .

Miss Andretti was a star West Australian sprinter who won a Lightning Stakes, Newmarket Handicap and Kings Stand Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Miss Conteki (2022)

Last 3YO to win:

Multiple winners: Stormed Out (2006 & 2007): Cranky Tikit (1995 & 1998).

Fastest time (1100m): Misty Metal (2019) 1:03:64

Leading jockeys: Shaun Mc Gruddy with 3 wins (Misty Metal 2019; Escadaire 2010; Kaprats 2004).

Leading trainers: Simon Miller with 6 wins (Miss Conteki 2022; Flirtini 2021; Valour Road 2020; Caipirinha 2016;  Hussy By Choice 2014; Power Princess 2012)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Miss Andretti Stakes

Winners of past Miss Andretti Stakes include some good sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Jan Wild Belle Gemma’s Son Real Dancer
2023 Jan How’s The Serenity Express Time Long Beach
2022 Jan Miss Conteki Iseered Iseered Floyd
2021 Jan Flirtini Carocapo Essential Spice
2020 Jan Valour Road Belter Don’t Fuss
2019 Jan Misty Metal Belter The Celt
2018 Jan Caipirinha Dainty Tess Volkoff
2017 Jan Volkoff Durendal Candlelight Star
2016 Jan Lucky Street First Among Equals Silverstream
2015 Jan Dawn Approach Cool Trade Pininci
2014 Jan Hussy By Choice Shining Knight Beach Express
2013 April Mabel Grace Beach Express Cavallo Pazzo
2012 Mar Power Princess Mabel Grace Latoria
2011 Apr Mekong Miss Escadaire Henry De Horse
2010 Apr Escadaire Revolition Shock Value
2008 Sep Raw Metal Solidwickedcruel Idyllic Prince
2007 Sep Stormed Out Innovation Legend Express
2006 Oct Stormed Out Call Me Henry Wild Target
2005 Oct Miss Andretti Rescuer Early Express
2004 Oct Kaprats Kame’s Hope Dead Eye Dick
2003 Oct Centro Kame’s Hope Kensyl Bay
2002 Oct Master Park Storm Shot Fair Alert
2001 Oct Tribula Old Fashion Mr Callahan
2000 Nov Umah Slideaway Mystery Lad
1999 Nov Extracts Pompeii Chief Society Miss
1998 Nov Cranky Tikit Jacks Or Better