Perth Cup Race Information

The Perth Cup is Western Australia’s premier horse racing event  which carries prize money totaling $400,000. The Group Two race is for three-year-olds and up and is now run over 2400 metres.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $400,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 January 2021

Perth Cup Race History

See the 2021 Perth Cup Preview and Results.

The race is held at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Day of each year. Ascot, called by some “the grand old lady” of Australian racecourses, is regarded as the country’ toughest test for thoroughbreds.

The circumference of the track is 2022 metres with the straight being 294 meters long. There is a good cambered home turn and a slight rise from the 400-metre pole to the finish line. Experts regard the home stretch as the most severe test of stayers in Australia.

The Western Australian Turf Club, now operating as Perth Racing, has been hosting thoroughbred racing in the state for over 150 years and runs Ascot Racecourse along with Belmont Park. Both are within minutes of Perth.

A six-year-old, Black Tom, ridden by Peter Hall and trained by Frank H. Maynard, won the 2006 Perth Cup. In 2005, Crown Prosecutor, a four-year-old, was the champion.

Perth Cup Facts

Last mare to win; Mississippi Delta (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Field Officer (1993); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Star Exhibit (2016 & 2019); Magistrate (1981 & 1982); Fait Accompli (1970 & 1972); Fairetha (1958 & 1959); Cueesun (dec 1933 & Jan 1935); Artesian (1911 & 1013); Scarpa (1893 & 1894); Wandering Willie (1890 & 1892).

Interesting trivia: 1919 winner Eurythmic won the 1920 Caulfield Cup. 1904 winner Blue Spec won the 1905 Melbourne Cup.

Previous winners of the Perth Cup

Other recent winners include King Canute, 2004; Tumeric, 2003; Cardinal Colours, 2002; Lottila Bay, 2001; Luna Tudor, 2000; King Of Saxony, 1999; Heed The Toll, 1998; Time Frame, 1997; and Crying Game 1996. Seven Horses have captured two Perth Cups. The last was Magistrate with wins in 1981 and 1982.

Jockey F. J. Treen has ridden five champions: 1949, 1952, 1963, 1964 and 1969.

Six other riders have three wins each. Both J. J. Kelly and G. A. Towton have saddled seven winners. Kelly’s wins were in the early 1900’s and Towton’s in the late 1800’s. More recently, Alan D. Mathews has trained six winners. They were in 1990, 1992, 1993, 1994, 2001 and 2003.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Neufbosc Truly Great Midnight Blue
2020 Mississippi Delta Missile Launch Taxagano
2019 Star Exhibit Action Prize Catch
2018 Material Man Pounamu Royal Star
2016 (Dec) Star Exhibit Neverland Tradesman
2016 (Jan) Delicacy Neverland Real Love
2015 Real Love Red Blast Kirov Boy
2014 Black Tycoon God Has Spoken Ask Me Nicely
2013 Talent Show Mr Moet Global Flirt
2011 (Dec) Western Jewel God Has Spoken Senhor Da Gama
2011 (Jan) Guest Wing Admiring Big Ted
2010 Lords Ransom Ma Chienne Largo Lad
2009 Gunyo The Fuzz Ballack
2008 Cats Fun Exhilerating Westerly Breeze
2007 Respect Bay Story Rossam
2006 Black Tom Master Minx Early Express
2005 Crown Prosecutor Free At Last Black Tom
2004 King Canute Indigo King Higgins Gold
2003 Tumeric So Canny Bold Mirage
2002 Cardinal Colours Give Me A Chance Shoeless
2001 Lottila Bay Moonrise King Brian
2000 Lunar Tudor Victory Morn Matriculate

From the Archives:

Perth Cup Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There is a full field of 16 plus one emergency for the $500,000 TABTouch Perth Cup. The early favourite is Material Man who was 2nd in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic then 2nd in the G2 Ted Van Heemst Stakes and drops 2.5 kg here. Second favourite is Trap For Fools who has won 8 of his last 9 starts and is facing his toughest test, but clearly has talent. Third favourite is Pounamu who won the Kingston Town Classic then the Ted Van Heemst Stakes over 2100m last start, but is badly weighted here.

Royal Star ran on strongly from last for 6th on the Kingston Town than ran 5th in the ATA Stakes. Dark Alert tried hard for a close 2nd in the ATA Stakes. Zarantz wound up from last for 3rd in the Ted Van Heemst. Angola ran 2nd in the GA Towton Cup over 2200m last start. Star Value won by 2.5 lengths over 2200m in a BM 66 and up last start.  All other runners are currently 20 to 1 or longer in the early market.

The following are the top 4 selections for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
3 Trap For Fools
2 Material Man
1 Pounamu
8 Dark Alert