Maurice McCarten Stakes Race Information

The Maurice McCarten Stakes is an 1100 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

Maurice McCarten Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Maurice McCarten Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Maurice McCarten Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Maurice McCarten Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: California Zimbol (2021)

Last 3YO to win: Cannonball (2023)

Multiple winners: Appoint (1998 & 1999)

Fastest time (1100m): Dothraki (2018) 1:03:42

Interesting trivia: In 2018 Dothraki won on protest against Sprightly Lass who was first across the line.

Past winners of the Maurice McCarten Stakes

Winners of past Maurice McCarten Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Cannonball Athelric Quick Tempo
2022 Shelby Sixtysix Rule Of Law Gravina
2021 California Zimbol Easy Eddie Order Of Command
2020 Star Of The Seas River Bird Spending To Win
2019 Easy Eddie She Knows All Over Bosanova
2018 Dothraki Sprightly Lass New Universe
2017 Artistry Dothraki Fickle Folly
2016 Alberto Magic Angels Beach Bachman
2015 Target In Sight Deep Field Tahitian Black
2014 Kencella Va Pensiero That’s A Good Idea
2013 See The World Anise Hurrara
2012 Title Uate Zaratone
2011 Atomic Force Winter King Dorf Command
2010 Welkom Gold Nightofthegeneral Rarefied
2009 Mount Verde Aichi Posadas
2008 Hoystar Al Be Nimble Certain Magic
2007 Double Dare King Rex Sunset Run
2006 Snippetson Mustard Shannon Bank
2005 Britt’s Best Damigos Entreaty
2004 Mustard Geiger Spirit Jivago
2003 Sex Machine Oomph Arlington Road
2002 Crete Shouq Arlington Road
2001 Stanzaic
Knickerbocker Kid
* dead heat 1st Scottish Pride
2000 Antiquity Paint Batwing
1999 Appoint Samboa Rebel Rock
1998 Appoint Hot As Hell Masked Party
1997 Quick Flick Bewilder Gnusept
1996 Identikit Suntain Batwing
1995 Magic Of Money Cohort Sublimate
1994 Brawny Spirit All Our Mob Sympose
1993 Friend’s Venture Truly Cannes Cavalier
1992 Euclase Soho Square Mocha
1991 West Dancer Festal The Bullfighter
1990 Autumn Dew Lucky Rass Beau Tyranica
1989 Targlish Ideal Score Thrifty Reserve
1988 Investor Royal Handout Grandiose