Matriarch Stakes Race Information

The Matriarch Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares four-years and older run by the Victoria Racing Club in November. It is held at Flemington on the last day of the VRC Spring Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, mares 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 November 2020

Matriarch Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Matriarch Stakes Facts

Multiple winners: Big Colony (1991 & 1992)

Fastest time (2000m): Purple (2009) 2:00:1

Tesio Stakes & Matriarch Stakes: Suavito (2014);

Interesting trivia: Big Colony is the only mare to win this race twice – she was also first past the post in the Sandown Classic but was later disqualified.

Past winners of the Matriarch Stakes

Winners of past Matriarch Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Affair To Remember Paradee Toffee Tongue
2019 Oceanex Miss Siska Aristocratic Miss
2018 Kenedna Miss Siska Luvaluva
2017 Savapinski Payroll Token Of Love
2016 Jessy Belle Sort After Happy Hannah