Lord Reims Stakes Race Information

The Lord Reims Stakes is a 2600 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in February or March. It is held at Morphettville as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights & penalties
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 February 2024

Lord Reims Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Lord Reims Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Lord Reims Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1889 as a Principal Race over 1.5 miles (about 2400m)  called the West End Draught Stakes and was won by Brittania. In 1980 it became a Listed race and the distance was increased to 2600m. Between 1982 and 2003 it was run over distances of 2450m, 2400m and 2500m in different years until 2004 when it returned to the current 2600m distance. It has been called the Lord Reims Stakes from 2010 onwards.

It is a traditional lead-up race for the Adelaide Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Tralee Rose (2021)

Multiple winners: Lord Reims (1988 & 1989); Fulmen (1968 & 1969); Falcon Gold (1954 & 1955); Cadelgo (1924 & 1927), Typical (1948 * & 1949)

Lord Reims Stakes & Adelaide Cup (same year): Apache King (2001); Cronus (1997); French Resort (1996); Ideal Centreman (1991); Water Boatman (1990); Lord Reims (1988 & 1989); Moss Kingdom (1984); Yashmak (1980); Phar Ace (1974); Tavel (1970); Fulmen (1967); Far Away Places (1961); Suzumi (1931); Parallana (1929); Altimeter (1928); Spearer (1926); Stralia (1925); Warpaint (1896); Port Admiral (1894); Vakeel (1893).

Interesting trivia: There was a dead heat for the win in 1948.

Past winners of the Lord Reims Stakes

Winners of past Lord Reims Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Yellowbrick Road The Map Hasta La War
2023 Highland Jakk Stars Of Carrum Grand Promenade
2022 Canford So Bene Eperdument
2021 Tralee Rose Long Arm Eperdument
2020 Eperdument Master Chum Heart Of Grace
2019 Bondeiger Sylpheed October Date
2018 Etah James Master Of Arts Benzini
2017 Master Of Arts Puccini Jim’s Journey
2016 Signoff Celtic Prince Tunes
2015 Taiyoo Lucky Lucky Lucky Gossip Guru
2014 Distillation Base Waltzing To Win
2013 My Ex Mate Talent Show Titch
2012 Enchanting Waters Rialya He’s Hot To Trot
2011 Guyno Maunatrice Lady Avacan
2010 Moment In Time Dolphin Jo Capecover
2009 Miss Pavlova Brad Star Fourdee
2008 Exalted Ego Saddlers Story Road To Athens
2007 Danebar Lacy Underball Miss Theron
2006 Royal Player Exalted Time Danebar
2005 Far Lane Demerger Ista Kareem
2004 Bel Air Larrocha Roman Arch
2003 Le Destina Firetaine Oxford Dollar
2002 Firetaine Homewrecker Rum
2001 Apache King Skybeau The Hind
2000 Frenzel Rhomb Royal Caliph Oxford Dollar
1999 Star Binder Shattered Circle Angies Heart
1998 Heed The Toll Royal Caliph Frenzel Rhomb
1997 Cronus Skybeau Cockade
1996 French Resort Section
Seto Bridge
 * dead-heat 2nd
1995 Balmeressa Bullwinkle Blue Sun
1994 Top Rating Red Icing Bahi
1993 Toy Image Delmar Impulsive Risk
1992 Runaway Groom Brave Expectation London Bridge
1991 Ideal Centreman Water Boatman Pressmans Choice
1990 Water Boatman Lord Hybrow Sea Legend
1989 Lord Reims Merino Explorer The Brotherhood
1988 Lord Reims The Brotherhood Argonaut Style
1987 Bourbon Boy King’s Pleasure Overland Boy
1986 Foxseal Sir Geraint Hollinger
1985 Beguiled Nicholas John Toujours Mio
1984 Moss Kingdom Cabema Padigambol
1983 Our Shout Triumphal March Turf Ace
1982 Dealer’s Choice Prince Plea Brechn Castle
1981 Pearl Lover Miss Claus Carnaby Star