Lord Mayor’s Cup Race Information

The Lord Mayor’s Cup is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in May. It is held at Rosehill as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 May 2023

Lord Mayor’s Cup Race History

See the 2023 Lord Mayor’s Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held at the inaugural meeting of the Sydney Turf Club at Randwick on Saturday 15th January 1944 at 3pm over a distance of about one mile. It was won by Mr B. H Crowleys’s three-year-old filly Flight wearing colours of dark blue with an orange diamond, orange sleeves and orange cap. Flight won 24 races in her career including two Cox Plates, and when she retired to stud she was Australia’s highest stakes winning mare.

Held at Canterbury in some years eg 2011.

There is also a Lord Mayor’s Cup held in Brisbane as a Group 3 race.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Polly Grey (2021)

Fastest time (2000m): Top Of My List (2017) 2:02:15

Interesting trivia: In 2020 Chris Waller trained the trifecta.

Past winners of the Lord Mayor’s Cup

Winners of past Lord Mayor’s Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Bois D’argent Navajo Peak Wicklow
2022 Hopeful The Frontman Rock
2021 Polly Grey Parry Sound The Lord Mayor
2020 Wu Gok Yulong Prince The Lord Mayor
2019 Grey Lion Girl Tuesday Live And Free
2018 Our Century Ecuador Nettoyer
2017 Top Of My List Allergic Jessy Belle
2016 Ecuador Lady Le Fay Havana Cooler
2015 Silverball Sense Of Occasion Destiny’s Kiss
2014 Zephyron I’m Imposing Secessio
2013 Moriarty Zonza Strike The Stars
2012 Kinnersley Wazn Firebolt
2011 Shootoff Mr Clangtastic Vision And Power
2010 Common Objective Music Review Vision And Power
2009 Penrickson Music Review Prince Arthur
2008 Twin Wing Tommifrancs Nuclear Sky
2007 Danebar On The Up Megabucks
2006 No Wine No Song Swansea November Dreaming
2005 Zingam Shamrock Shore Havana Wind
2004 Stoway Portland Singa Daralimara
2003 Majestically Silent Impact Terrific Taurus
2002 Grampians We’re Dancing Ebony Honor
2001 Henderson Bay Recall Touch The Groom
2000 Gypsy’s Daughter Spying Breakdance
1999 Kahoolawe Conair Expect A Star
1998 Marsking Madjic Hwange
1997 Buzzoff Seto Stayer Jacanarchie
1996 Dupain Prince Rupert Linesman
1995 Slam Dunk Prince High Jellybean Road
1994 Lord Windsor Paris Nights Nassirich
1993 Sky Danza Aulone Star Galilei
1992 Guile Ali Boy Tuff Enuff
1991 Chiming Knight Polyphony Royal Marine
1990 Estimable Tiffany Blue Southern Express
1989 Moniuszko Miss Remus Regal Prize
1988 Ironic Lady Careless Love Son Of Bijou
1987 Lord Reims String Of Pearls Tierra Rist
1986 Late Show Calaboose Jogger
1985 True Show Sikorsky Essential
1984 Calaboose Heroic Blaze Chiamere
1983 Baldoon Hayai Lancelotto
1982 My Friend Francis Lord Folkestone Mother Courage
1981 Brighten Bright Halo Misty Love
1980 Sutimie Play The Game Sonstone
1979 Bandoo Bay Our Big Gamble High Level
1978 Bazza Bombshell Favoloso
1977 Bombshell Lazy Pat Persian Philosopher
1976 Lazy Pat Clear Day Hotray
1975 Storming High Style Air Voyager
1974 Passetreul Jamari Crusader King
1973 Fine Style Veiltari Dalvere
1972 Passetreul Kiss Me Cait Marseilles
1971 Oklahoma Bluelough Portable
1970 Peter’s Empire Roman Consul Pirate Bird
1969 Great Exploits Sandy’s Hope Royal Display
1968 Coronation Cadet Dahma Star Murky Night
1967 Clovelly Mexican Star Tea Biscuit
1966 Pyramis Plenty Loona Boy
1965 Fair Patton Saydor Even Better
1964 Fair Patton Saydor Beau Tirage
1963 Beau Tirage The Wit Politician
1962 Beau Tirage Our Add Corsair
1961 Grand Prix Travel On Fils D’Or
1960 Compass Polo Prince Caybros
1959 Royal Jester Flash Gem Edspell
1958 Caranna Noble Empire Teranyan
1957 Zaheida Lindbergh Shaded
1956 Grand Charles Prince Cortauld Landy
1955 Compound Willy Willy Blazeaway
1954 Delwood Vaporata Blond Val
1953 Sir Pilot Tea Towel Top Level
1952 Star King Dark Marne Socrates
1951 Dinanda Persist Bankstream
1950 Tamarind Freedom High Spirits
1949 Transaction Crusader Royal Lad
1948 Kerry Lad Piccolo Royal Court
1947 Courier Silent Homeleigh Dick
1946 War Eagle Columnist Lady Marie
1945 Alan Veil Accession Turn Again
1944 Flight Rimveil Sir Neith