Kingston Town Stakes Race Information

The Kingston Town Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Australian Turf Club in September. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 September 2023

Kingston Town Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Kingston Town Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Kingston Town Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1948 over 1 1/2 miles (about 2400m) and was won by a horse called Columnist. It was known as the STC Cup from 1948 to 1983. It has been a Group 3 race since 1990 and the distance has been 2000m since 1992.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: She’s Ideel (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – none; Filly – none

Multiple winners: Kingston Town (1980 & 1981); Tails (1969 & 1971); Valerius (1958 &1960)

Fastest time (2000m): Just Fine (2023) 2:00:39

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Kingston Town Stakes

Winners of past Kingston Town Stakes include  Finche (2019), Avilius (2018), McCreery (2016), He’s Your Man (2014), Herculian Prince (2010), Dress Circle (2002), Vita Man (1999), Yobro (1996), Lord Revenir (1991), Kingston Town (1980/1981), Gold And Black (1976), Analie (1973), Tails (1969/1971) and Valerius (1959/1960).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Just Fine Benaud Montefilia
2022 Alegron Benaud Knights Order
2021 She’s Ideel Montefilia Entente
2020 Taikomochi Shared Ambition Brimham Rocks
2019 Finche Stampede Carzoff
2018 Avilius Brimham Rocks I Am Serious
2017 Libran Antonio Giuseppe Life Less Ordinary
2016 McCreery Sir John Hawkwood Allergic
2015 Silverball Maurus Foundry
2014 He’s Your Man Kingdoms Deane Martin
2013 Prince Cheri Honorius Julienas
2012 Stout Hearted Crafty Irna Strawberry Boy
2011 Lamasery Crafty Irna Mourayan
2010 Herculian Prince Stormhill The Embassy
2009 Ready To Lift Voice Coach God’s Hand
2008 Hurrah Red Lord Sir Fussalot
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Mr Martini Vanquished Lookout
2005 Stormhill Railings Carael Boy
2004 Just Polite Seul Amour New York Style
2003 Ariante Dashing Away Mrs. Tendulkar
2002 Dress Circle Youhadyourwarning Native Jazz
2001 Swiss Echo Able Way Mulan Princess