Ken Russell Memorial Classic Race Information

The Ken Russell Memorial Classic is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Gold Coast Turf Club in May. It is held at the Gold Coast as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Gold Coast Racecourse, Surfers Paradise, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 8 May 2021

Ken Russell Memorial Classic Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last 2YO filly to win: Royal Tithe (2016)

Fastest time (1200m): Sesar (2018) 1:08:67

Interesting trivia: Big Tree (2015), Le Val (2013), Sizzling (2012) and Hot Snitzel (2012) were all sired by Snitzel.

Past winners of the Ken Russell Memorial Classic

Winners of past Ken Russell Memorial Classics include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Wisdom Of Water Tick Tock Boom
 *dead-heat 2nd
2019 Stronger Accession Take Tea
2018 Sesar Boomsara Lean Mean Machine
2017 Taking Aim Dissolution Lord Cecil
2016 Royal Tithe Oink Impending
2015 Big Tree Blueberry Hill Regatta Rebel
2014 Aimee Sagatona Goodbye Kevin
2013 Le Val Londehero Diamond Oasis
2012 Sizzling Dances On Stars Dansonate
2011 Hot Snitzel Double Impact Lady Mary
2010 Spirit Of Boom Adebisi Jypsiere
2009 Facile Tigre Trim Movie
2008 Cat D’Antibes Daddys Little Girl Power Of George
2007 I Have No Fear Pride Of Power Chabeli
2006 Gold Edition Thundering Girl Jennifer Ann
2005 Foolish Testafiable Cool Scene
2004 Midnight City Annbari Serenote
2003 Victory Grove Tornado Alley Kas Nediym
2002 Tequila Knowledge Saddler’s Silk Koochie
2001 Palidamah Juanmo Star Of St Covet
2000 Ombra Della Sera Madison Adjudicator