January Cup Race Information

The January Cup is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club early in the year. It is held at Rosehill as the feature event of the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 January 2024

January Cup Race History

See the 2024 January Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 January Cup Preview and results.

The race dates back to at least 1930 when it was won by a horse called Jeypore. In 1931 Jeypore won again and the horse that came 2nd to him, Spearman, went on to win in 1932. It is one of those races that horses often race in several times although only a handful have won it more than once.

For much of it’s history it has been known as the Tattersall’s Club Cup and the distance has changed many times. It was held over 2000m in 2000, 2100m in 2001, 1800m in 2002, 2000m from 2003 to 2011, 2095m in 2012, 200m in 2013, 2400m from 2014 to 2019, then back to 2000m from 2020.

The Group 3 Summer Cup held two weeks earlier over 2000m at Randwick is often used as a lead-up to the race, while mares may come through the Group 3 Belle Of The Turf Stakes over 1600m at Gosford about two weeks earlier.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Luvaluva (2020)

Multiple winners: Banner Headline (1988 & 1989); Pharoah (1993 & 1994); Calypso (1974 & 1976); Jaypore (1930 & 1931)

Fastest time (2000m): Grandiloquent (2007) 2:01:11

Leading jockeys: Jim Cassidy with 6 wins (Rainbow Styling 2010; Dante’s Paradiso 2005; Banner Headline 1998; Pharaoh 1994; Our Dawn Star 1991; Limitless 1987).

Leading trainers: Chris Waller with 6 wins (So You Win 2022; Naval Warfare 2019; Vilanova 2016; Multilateral 2015; Permit 2014; Moriarty 2013 )

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the January Cup

Winners of past January Cups include some good stayers.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Jan Naval College Riyazan Lord Ardmore
2023 Jan Mission Phoenix Aleas Bonny Ezra
2022 Jan So You Win Mubariz Attorney
2021 Jan Spirit Ridge Wolfe Mr Marathon Man
2020 Jan Luvaluva Taikomochi Mr Garcia
2019 Naval Warfare Earth Angel Destiny’s Kiss
2018 Prince Cheri Vassal Destiny’s Kiss
2017 Destiny’s Kiss Index Linked Shalmaneser
2016 Vilanova Sir John Hawkwood Lucky Lucky Lucky
2015 Multilateral Ghost Protocol Lucky Lucky Lucky
2014 Permit Travolta Destiny’s Kiss
2013 Moriarty Darci Be Good Angelus
2012 Straight Albert Winning Glory Legsman
2011 Spinney Southern Skye Rock Kingdom
2010 Rainbow Styling Hairy Spinney
2009 Tommifrancs Penrickson Kettledrum
2008 **Race not run**
2007 Grandiloquent Beauty Watch Prince Arthur
2006 Vanquished Juerga Lake Susannah
2005 Dante’s Paradiso Institution Salgado
2004 Spinning Con Raw Instinct This Manshood