Summer Cup Race Information

The Summer Cup is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late December. It is held at Randwick as the feature event on Boxing Day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 December 2020

Summer Cup Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Luvaluva (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Ming Dynasty (1976); Filly – none

Multiple winners: I’m Imposing (2013 & 2014); Donald (1928 & 1929); King Of The Forest (1921 & 1923); Blue Metal (1899 & 1900)

Fastest time (2000m): Luvaluva (2019) 2:02:84

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse with 5 wins (Aqua D’Amore (2005); Stoway (2002); Zanetta (1999); Linesman (1997) and Century Boy (1996).

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza. In 1932 there was a dead-heat for the win of Pretzel and Miss Ntava, In 1917 Poitrel won on protest against Chantemerle.

Past winners of the Summer Cup

Winners of past Summer Cups include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Spirit Ridge Best Of Days Black On Gold
2019 Luvaluva Black On Gold Taikomochi
2018 Fierce Impact Satono Rasen Life Less Ordinary
2017 Montauk Red Excitement Testashadow
2016 Red Excitement Foreign Prince Shalmaneser