Guy Walter Stakes Race Information

The Guy Walter Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares four-years-old and over run by the Australian Turf Club in late February or early March. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, mares 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 February 2021

Guy Walter Stakes Race History

History coming soon.

Guy Walter Stakes Facts

Multiple winners: Dixie Blossoms (2017 & 2018); Steps In Time (2012 & 2013); Hot Danish (2008 & 2009)

Fastest time (1400m): Solicit (2001) 1:20:3

Triscay Stakes & Guy Walter Stakes: Alassio (2019);

Leading jockeys : Tim Clark has had plenty of success in this race.

Interesting trivia: Dual winner Dixie Blossoms ran second to Alassio when attempting a hat-trick in 2019 before winning the Group 1 Coolmore Classic at her next start.

Past winners of the Guy Walter Stakes

Winners of past Guy Walter Stakes often go on to race at Group 1 level.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Crone Tricky Gal Icebath
2020 Dawn Dawn Sweet Deal Pohutukawa
2019 Alassio Dixie Blossoms Manicure
2018 Dixie Blossoms Raiment Francaletta
2017 Dixie Blossoms Zanbagh Flippant