Golden Mile Race Information

The Golden Mile is a 1600 metre open handicap run by the Bendigo Jockey Club in late March. It is held at Bendigo as part of the Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Bendigo Racecourse, Bendigo, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 April 2024

Golden Mile Race History

See the 2024 Golden Mile Preview and results.

See the 2023 Golden Mile Preview and results.

See the 2022 Golden Mile Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Dance With Her (2012)

Multiple winners: Observational (2015 & 2017).

Fastest time (1600m): So Far Sokool (2018) 1:22:15

Interesting trivia: Testa Rossa sired 2007 winner Test Fire and 2009 winner Testaguy.

Past winners of the Golden Mile

Winners of past Golden Miles include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 El Soleado Sibaaq Just Folk
2023 Here To Shock Laure Me In Prince Of Helena
2022 Cherry Tortoni Hi Stranger Milford
2021 Ironclad Platoon Vassilator
2020 Hellova Street Iconoclasm Admiral’s Joker
2019 Haripour Mantastic Red Alto
2018 Dodging Bullets Seaburge Sword Of Light
2017 Observational Jacquinot Bay War Legend
2016 Nevis Big Memory Survived
2015 Observational Evangelist Dylanson
2014 Fat Al Bel Thor Bass Strait
2013 Jet Away Zabisco Prizum
2012 Dance With Her Testascana Happy Trails
2011 Sherpa Tenzing Tuscan Prince Command Prince
2010 Sep Riceman Fasmoss Even Adam
2009 Testaguy Hoodlum Ronald John
2008 Time To Laugh
2007 Test Fire Hurricane Gust Jukebox Johnny
2006 Chiack Gallic Time To Laugh