G.A. Towton Cup Race Information

The G.A. Towton Cup is a 2200 metre quality handicap race run by the West Australian Turf Club in December. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 December 2023

G.A. Towton Cup Race History

See the 2023 G.A. Towton Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 G.A. Towton Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1978 when it was won by a horse called  Caduceus trained by Stan Quinlivan and ridden by Graeme Webster senior. In 1983 it became a Listed race and was won by Rosamoss. In both 2009 and 2014 it was run as a Group 3 race called the Queen’s Cup but in all other years was a Listed race. The distance has varied between 2200m and 2400m, but has been over 2200m from 2010 onwards. It is a traditional lead-up race for the Perth Cup three weeks later at the start of the New Year.

Geeorge Andrew Towton inducted into the WA Racing Hall Of Fame in 2012. He was a pioneer of Australian racing who was a rider, a trainer and an owner. Over a ten year period he owned and trained the winners of six Perth Cups and one Railway Stakes and trained four WATC Derby winners.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Real Love (2014)

Last 3YO to win: C&G William’s Ghost (1989);

Multiple winners: Trap for Fools (2017 & 2020); Red Javelin (1991 & 1992); Swift Knight (1982 & 1984)

Fastest time (2200m): Rosamoss (1983) 2:15:18

Leading jockeys: Peter Knuckey  with 4 wins (Celtus 2003; Noble Cavalier 2000; True Russian 1995; Big Al 1994).

Leading trainers: Lindsey Smith with 3 wins (Trap For Fools 2017; Celtus 2003; Noble Cavalier 2000)

Interesting trivia: In 1993 Sir Vole won at 100 to 1.

Past winners of the G A Towton Cup

Winners of past G.A. Towton Cups include Real Love (2014), Kim Angel (1999), Red Javelin (1991 & 1992), Linc The Leopard (1987) and Ullyatt (1985).

Year Winner Second Third
2022 Black Fantasy Queen Alina Neufbosc
2022 Buster Bash Cockney Crew Neufbosc
2021 Black Shadow Bella’s Idol Stafford’s Lad
2020 Trap For Fools Neufbosc Utgard Loki
2019 Taxagano Prince Turbo Missile Launch
2018 Cappo D’Oro Mississippi Delta Elegant Beast
2017 Trap For Fools Angola Falcon Crest
2016 Kia Ora Koutou Star Exhibit Dark Musket
2015 Fulgur Rebelson Drive West
2014 Real Love Son Of Something Ask Me Nicely
2013 Knightlike Cyber Crime Malaika
2012 Global Flirt Bridgestone Moonlight Bay
2011 **Race not held**
2010 Brandy Lane Mega Steel Guyno
2009 Gondorff Ma Chienne Esroh
2008 Exhilarating Doyoudare Bold Scene
2007 Luskin Dancer Laetare Exhilarating
2006 Ramiro Coal Seam Zero Engagement
2005 Miss Copycat Caught Courting Higgins Gold
2004 Reigning Fort Universal Warrior Shoeless
2003 Celtus Desert Dreamer King Canute
2002 So Canny Alibi Bay Mr Tambourineman
2001 Cardinal Colours Shoeless Our Annabel
2000 Noble Cavalier King Brian Heed The Toll
1999 Kim Angel Old Cobber Westown