Fred Best Classic Race Information

The Fred Best Classic is a 1400 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May. It is held at Eagle Farm on Queensland Derby Day as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 1 June 2024

Fred Best Classic Race History

See the 2024 Fred Best Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Fred Best Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 Fred Best Classic Preview and results.

See the 2021 Fred Best Classic Preview and results.

The race was first held over 1350m at Doomben in 1984 as a 2YO race and was won by Bonne Princess. In 1997 it became a 3YO race. It became a Listed race in 1996 and was upgraded to a Group 3 from 2003 onwards.

It has had many names over the years including the Courier Mail Classic, Richmond Grove Classic and the BTC Classic. It was first called the Fred Best Classic in 2010.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Roll On High (2024)

Fastest time (1350m): Gold Edition (2007) 1:17:52

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Fred Best Classic

Winners of past Fred Best Classics include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Roll On High Rhythm Of Love Stefi Magnetica
2023 Hawaii Five Oh Yellow Brick End Assembly
2022 Vilana Kiss Sum Battleton
2021 Apache Chase Ayrton Amish Boy
2020 Dawn Passage Exhilarates Subpoenaed
2019 Military Zone Baccarat Baby Krone
2018 Perast Assimilate Mishani Bullitt
2017 Niccanova Sylpheed I Thought So
2016 Counterattack Takedown Perfect Dare
2015 Najoom Miss Cover Girl Awesome Rock
2014 Havana Into The Red Dothraki
2013 Platinum Kingdom Boban Academus
2012 Mental Amah Rock Boys On Tour
2011 Falino Spirit Of Boom Skilled
2010 Stryker Happy Hippy Graceful Anna
2009 Court Leapfrog Geeza
2008 El Cambio Mr Unforgettable Diplomatic Force
2007 Gold Edition Grand Reve J’adane
2006 La Montagna Century Serb Pasikatera
2005 Gumnuts Rich Megadale Aqua D’Amore
2004 Gallieni Drunken Joker Sky Cuddle
2003 Proudly Agro Brief Embrace Charlie Bub
2002 Tellson Gabfest Acadame
2001 Marlina Zariz Johann Lover
2000 Cryptavia Make Mine Magic The Kildare Kid
1999 Mr Innocent Black Bean Arimathea
1998 Staging Devers Gold Stella Cadente
1997 Crafty Beau Forgotten Hero Anthems
1996 Proud Player Quick Flick Ravarda
1995 Chief De Beers Danasinga Don Pasquale
1994 Ferragamo Mistador Yarradorf
1993 Affirmed Star Best Weapon Hidden Saint
1992 Social Rule Bound To Play Prince Of Marscay
1991 Committal Brunchtime Royal Saga
1990 Jonaron Maryvale Boy Bassies Pride
1989 Spot The Rock Ballook Aces And Kings
1988 McGintys Crown Sea Cabin Luskin Court
1987 Mirraben
1986 Christopher
1985  ** Race not run **
1984 Bonne Princess