Frank Packer Plate Race Information

The Frank Packer Plate is a 2000 metre race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in April. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 April 2024

Frank Packer Plate Race History

See the 2024 Frank Packer Plate Preview and results.

See the 2023 Frank Packer Plate Preview and results.

See the 2022 Frank Packer Plate Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1980 when it was won by Lauriat. It was a Group 2 race from 198o to 1990, then was downgraded to the current Group 3 status from 1991 onwards.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Verona (2022)

Fastest time (2000m): The Chosen One (2019) 2:00:97

Carbine Club Stakes & Frank Packer Plate: He’s Our Rokkii (2016); Hi World (2015); Fat Al (2012); Mr Piper (1996); Juggler (1995); Espinosa (1994).

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse with 6 wins (Fat Al 2012; Rockwood 2008; Afraah 2005; Arlington Road 2002; Spurred On 2001; Juggler 1995).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Frank Packer Plate

Winners of past Frank Packer Plates include Clangalang (2003), Freemason (2000), Dodge (1998), Might And Power (1997), Juggler (1995), Spritely Native (1985), Chiamare (1983) and Shaybisc (1981).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Kintyre Gold Bullion Our Gold Hope
2023 Osipenko Pericles Williamsburg
2022 Verona Maurice’s Medad Straight Arron
2021 Senor Toba High Supremacy Achiever
2020 Kinane Bottega Entente
2019 The Chosen One Dealmaker Purple Sector
2018 Higher Ground Tangled Holy Snow
2017 Mongolian Wolf Veladero Screamarr
2016 He’s Our Rokkii Old North Torgersen
2015 Hi World Wine Tales Merion
2014 Arabian Gold Pheidon Malice
2013 Usainity Honorius Kingdoms
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rekindled Alliance
2011 Shootoff Happy Trails Muirfield
2010 Dariana Euphemism Viking Hero
2009 Yallingup Orca Merensky Reef
2008 Rockwood Moatize Imvula
2007 Carnegie House Empire Choice Deloraine
2006 Dream Machine Born To Rule Super Lacuma
2005 Afraah Magnetism Eremein
2004 Red Terror Point Of Honour Running Rich
2003 Clangalang So Assertive Al Megdam
2002 Arlington Road On A High Navy Blue
2001 Spurred On Heeby Reiby Life Is Beautiful
2000 Freemason Perfect Paradise Crawl
1999 Franklin River Le Zagaletta Able Master
1998 Dodge Marsking Adam
1997 Might And Power Sakti Seeing Stars
1996 Mr Piper Pay Back Time Delinquent
1995 Juggler Glide Away Law Of The Land
1994 Espinosa Star Dancer Darbaas
1993 Play Or Pay Innocent King Palace Symphony
1992 In The Event Conshana Silk Ali
1991 Bold Rancher New Acquaintance Derecho
1990 Stargazer Snowplough Fastarc
1989 Royal Pardon Outgun Gold Mace
1988 Serestrina Harlan Star Great Quest
1987 Never Quit Imprimatur Mr. Marceau
1986 Swift Cheval Roman Artist Tierra Rist
1985 Spritely Native Colour Page Silver Award
1984 Pleasant Star Sabre Dancer Windwill Lad
1983 Chiamara Sunavail Forward Charge
1982 Dalmacia Faustina Lordship
1981 Shaybisc Palaban Just A Dash
1980 Lauriat Polo Player Cordelphia