Expressway Stakes Race Information

The Expressway Stakes is a 1200 metre weight-for-age race run by the Australian Turf Club in late Janaury or early February. It is held at Rosehill as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 January 2021

Expressway Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Expressway Stakes Preview and Results.

It was first held as a Principal race over 1100m at Randwick, where it was won by I’m Scarlet ridden by K Langby.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Savatiano (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Mentality (2007); Filly – Diamond Shower (1987)

Multiple winners: Court’s In Session (2005 & 2006).

Fastest time (1200m):

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 1990.

Past winners of the Expressway Stakes

Winners of past Expressway Stakes include Alizee (2019), Appearance (2014), Rangirangdoo (2010), Lonhro (2003), Tie The Knot (2001), Saintly (1996), Sir Dapper (1984), Kingston Town (1980), Luskin Star (1978) and Zephyr Bay (1975).

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Savatiano Kolding Emeralds
2020 Standout Alizee White Moss
2019 Alizee Le Romain Dothraki
2018 Trapeze Artist Showtime Addictive Nature
2017 Music Magnate Kuro Ball Of Muscle
2016 Our Boy Malachi Solicit Big Money