Emancipation Stakes Race Information

The Emancipation Stakes is a 1500 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Australian Turf Club in late August or early September. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, fillies & mares 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 March 2024

Emancipation Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Emancipation Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Emancipation Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Emancipation Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Emancipation Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held at Randwick in 1985 as an Listed race over 1600 metres. It was the 3rd race of the Easter Monday racecard as part of the  AJC Autumn Carnival and was won by Aspirations. It was upgraded to  a Group 3 race in 1995 then upgraded again to the current Group 2 status in 1999, In 2014 it was moved to its current home of Rosehill and the distance was reduced to the current 1500 metres.

Normally it is raced on Tancred Stakes day as part of a super Saturday with 8 Group races. In 2022 the meeting was abandoned after race 3 and the remaining Group races, including this, were held at Newcastle the following Monday.

Winner of the 2023 race is exempt from ballot for the 2022 Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

Emancipation Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; Sworn To Secrecy (2011)

Multiple winners: Zanbagh (2016 & 2017); Catkins (2014 & 2015); Skyerush (2012 & 2013);

Fastest time (1500m): Zanbagh (2016) 1:28:4

Leading jockeys: Shane Dye with 6 wins (Staging 1999; Almzyoon 1997; Vital Consent 1995; Romanee Conti 1992; Twining 1989; Balmoral 1988).

Interesting trivia: 2005 winner Perfect Promise began her racing career in South Africa.

Past winners of the Emancipation Stakes

Winners of past Emancipation Stakes include quality staying mares.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Olentia Arctic Glamour Ruthless Dame
2023 Roots Atishu Finepoint
2022 Promise Of Success Kiku Vangelic
2021 Nimalee Greysful Glamour Quantum Mechanic
2020 Positive Peace Noire Amangiri
2019 Invincible Gem Daysee Doom Noire
2018 Prompt Response Oregon’s Day Dixie Blossoms
2017 Zanbagh Daysee Doom Dixie Blossoms
2016 Zanbagh Supara Amicus
2015 Catkins Amanpour Gypsy Diamond
2014 Catkins Sharnee Rose Angel Of Mercy
2013 Skyerush Floria Cathay Lady
2012 Skyerush Fibrillation Divorces
2011 Sworn To Secrecy Skyerush Shannara
2010 Sacred Choice Gold Water Strawberry Field
2009 Amberino Bernicia Reggie
2008 Kosi Bay Translate Camarilla
2007 Hot Danish Kosi Bay More Than Lucky
2006 Fantasia Octapussy Villa Bled
2005 Perfect Promise Uprize Tui Song
2004 Hec of a Party Zanna In a Bound
2003 Faith Hill Moon Dragon Barawin
2002 Miss Zoe Sibyl Call Me Lily
2001 Heather Poppett More Haste
2000 Beat The Fade Mary Machree Camena
1999 Staging Come On Grace Zastov
1998 Palia Amber Shindig
1997 Almazyoon Admiring Glances Kenbelle
1996 Star County Money Thinks Nobellotto
1995 Vital Consent Futile Centisle
1994 Ausmart Lady’s Way Balmeressa
1993 Hysterical Tarare Beachside
1992 Romanee Conti Hysterical Grillita
1991 Ice Cream Sundae Princess Pushy Mammy
1990 Top Dance Richochet Rosie Pagan Dance
1989 Twining Sharmeen Jacobite Queen
1988 Balmoral Careless Love Shinakima
1987 Clavell’s Girl True Rebel Grand Cindy
1986 Sea Pictures Purple Maze Premier Flight
1985 Aspirations Look Aloft Casual