D C McKay Stakes Race Information

The DC McKay Stakes is an 1100 metre quality handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in early May. It is held at Morphettville on the same day as the Australasian Oaks.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 1 May 2021

D C McKay Stakes Race History

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 6 furlongs (about 1200m) in 1968 when it was won by a horse called King Stephen. It became a Group 3 race in 1980 and is considered a lead-up race for the Group 1 The Goodwood held two weeks later.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Sprightly Lass (2018)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Super One (2016); Filly – Boardwalk Angel (1989)

Multiple winners: Comaida Boy (1978 & 1979)

Fastest time (1100m): Streetcar Magic (2011) 1:02:10

Interesting trivia: There was a dead-heat in 2002 between Libidious and Windigo. In 2020 Jungle Edge was first across the line but was later disqualified.

Past winners of the D C McKay Stakes

Winners of past D.C. McKay Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Savatoxl Pandemic Street Life
2020 Behemoth Kabini Bold Star
2019 Despatch Zalmona Haunted
2018 Sprightly Lass One More Daisy Santa Ana Lane
2017 Karacatis Reldas Kaepernick
2016 Super One Daytona Grey Heart Of A Lion
2015 Thermal Current Yesterday’s Songs Minaj
2014 Essay Raider Karacatis Siwa Lady
2013 General Truce Karacatis Honey Flower
2012 Outlandish Lad Kulgrinda Go The Knuckle
2011 Streetcar Magic Valentine Miss Pinwheel
2010 Catapulted Solchow Augusta Proud
2009 I Am Invincible Augusta Proud Blahnik
2008 Idalou Tramuntana Blahnik
2007 Here De Angels Terango El Maze
2006 Shablec Leone Chiara Social Glow
2005 Bomber Bill General Bayton Gee I Jane
2004 Paraca Super Elegant Squillani
2003 Super Elegant Deprave Agalia
2002 Libidinious
 * dead-heat 1st John’s Brother
2001 Sudurka Suit Kapuna
2000 Perak Gold Marstic Astig
1999 Loafer Razamataz Appoint
1998 Toledo Declare Appoint