Chairman’s Stakes Race Information

The Chairman’s Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights plus penalties race for two-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late January or early February. It is held at Caulfield as one of the feature races of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 2YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 February 2024

Chairman’s Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Chairman’s Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Chairman’s Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Chairman’s Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Chairman’s Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Listed race over 1000m at Caulfield called the Bounding Away Quality in 1990, and was won by a horse called Wrap Around. It has been held at Sandown on several occasions, has been held over 1000m, 1100m and 1200m at various times and has been known at various times as the Veuve Clicquot Stakes, Jansz Stakes, Pol Rogers Stakes, National Jockey Celebration Classic and the Emirate Airline Stakes. From 2013 onwards (and also in 2010-2011) it has been called the Chairman’s Stakes and from 2014 onwards it has been a Group 3 race. In 2023 it was held at Sandown Hillside while Caulfield was being redeveloped.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Enthaar (2021)

Fastest time (1000m): Thurlow (2015) 0:56:43

Chairmans Stakes & the Blue Diamond: Extreme Choice (2016); Road To Success (2000); Redoubte’s Choice (1999).

Chairmans Stakes & the Golden Slipper: Crystal Lily (2010).

Interesting trivia: 1999 winner Redoute’s Choice was the sire of 2012 winner Mama’s Choice.

Past winners of the Chairman’s Stakes

Winners of past Chairman’s Stakes include Loving Gaby (2019), Extreme Choice (2016), Crystal Lily (2010) and Redoute’s Choice (1999).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Coleman Eneeza Counteroffensive
2023 Zulfiqar Veecee Tacito
2022 Sebonack Nanagui Kiko
2021 Enthaar Ingratiating Fortunate Kiss
2020 Mildred Aryaaf Frederick The Dane
2019 Loving Gaby Bella Rosa Lanigera
2018 Eniss Hill Encryption Prairie Fire
2017 Formality Time Awaits Spoils
2016 Extreme Choice Highland Beat Gratwick
2015 Thurlow Haybah Brooklyn
2014 Nayeli Bugatty Cautious
2013 Metastasio Kona Breeze Shamus Award
2012 Mama’s Choice Formidable Kimando
2011 Atomic Vatican Hollyweird
2010 Crystal Lily Bedhrah Rock Of Fortune
2009 Headway Silkyanna Samski
2008 Whisper Grand Jardin Elusive Wonder
2007 Gibraltar Campion Patasi Simplest
2006 Ulfah Ready Bramble Blitz
2005 Under The Floor Danger Looms Ready To Mombo
2004 Tirade Stringent Eire Hostess
2003 Vengeance Of Rain Winestock Fresh Boy
2002 Yell Innovation Girl Oronoko
2001 Spitz Mustaagel Ebony Night
2000 Road To Success Keeper Mannington
1999 Redoute’s Choice Transparent Lover Camargue
1998 Coup De Grace Major Fun Samanda Strike
1997 Bonegilla Tom Any Rhythm Lucan
1996 Balcanny Kitty Cat Shiosaki
1995 Tennessee Magic Danaides Flouro’s Sister
1994 Flouro Scenic Belle Tennessee Morn
1993 Lady In Reality Adagietto Academic