Century Stakes Race Information

The Century Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington on Oaks Day as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Thursday 5 November 2020

Century Stakes Race History

The race began as a Listed race over 1000m in 1982 when it was called the VRC Carnival Handicap and it was won by a horse called Bold Jet. The distance was increased to 1100m in 1986 , then in 2011 returned to 1000m. It has had many name changes including VRC Carnival Handicap, VRC Australian Airlines Flying Handicap, Qantas Australian Flying, VRC Hilton On The Park Sprint, The Lexus Stakes, MFS Stakes, Swisse Vitamins Stakes, 5o Years of Fashion on the Field Stakes (2012), Dilmah Earl Grey Stakes, Mumm Stakes, Absolut Stakes and GH Mumm Century Stakes.


Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Soothing (2019)

Multiple winners: Rocking Force (2011 & 2012), Into The Night (2002 & 2003), Bomber Bill (1998 & 2000), Western Sovereign (1990 & 1991),

Fastest time (1100m): Onemorezeta (2014) 1:03:19

Interesting trivia: 2019 winner Sisstar is a sister to Sunlight.

Past winners of the Century Stakes

Winners of past Century Stakes include St Clemens Belle (1999), Temple Of Boom (2010), Lankan Rupee (2013), Redzel (2016) and Ball Of Muscle (2017).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Ancestry Garner Villami
2019 Soothing Ball Of Muscle Badajoz
2018 Thermal Current Kaepernick I’ll Have A Bit
2017 Ball Of Muscle Crystal Dreamer Palazzo Pubblico
2016 Redzel Terravista Hellbent
2015 The Quarterback Wild Rain Office Bearer
2014 Atmospherical Consorting Straight Gold
2013 Lankan Rupee Snitzerland Nicholl’s Court
2012 General Truce Golden Archer Stratcombe
2011 Rocking Force Canali Perturbo