Carbine Club Stakes Race Information

The Carbine Club Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Victorian Racing Club in late October or early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Carbine Club Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Carbine Club Stakes and results.

See the 2022 Carbine Club Stakes and results.

See the 2020 Carbine Club Stakes Preview

The race was first held in 1971 when it was won by a horse called Kiss me Cait. It became a Listed race in 1983 when it was won by Wage Freeze and it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status in 1998 when it was won by Toy Carousel ridden by Larry Cassidy. Larry also rode the winner in 1999 (Over) and 2000 (Inspire).

It is held on Victoria Derby day which is the first day of Flemington’s four-day carnival, where all nine races are Group races. The four Group 1 races are the Victoria Derby, Kennedy Cantala Stakes, Coolmore Stud Stakes and the Empire Rose Stakes. The Wakeful Stakes and the Linlithgow Stakes are both Group 2 races, while the other two Group 3 races are the Begonia Belle Stakes and the Lexus Hotham Handicap.

The Caulfield Guineas and the Gothic Stakes are often used as lead-up races for this.

The race is named in honour of an incredible horse Carbine (1885 – 1914), who made a major impact on thoroughbred breeding in both Australia and England.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Fangirl (2021)

Fastest time (1600m): Saintly (1994)  and Brave Salute (1984) 1:34:8

Carbine Club & Sandown Guineas:  Mahuta (2015), Paxmadia (2013), Kidnapped (2009), Over (1999), Voting (1993), Shankhill Lass (1995), Brave Salute (1984), Snowing (1979), Shiftmar (1974).

Interesting trivia: The highest winning weight was Bold Mayo (1975) with 59kg. In 2020 there was a dead-heat for 3rd.

Past winners of the Carbine Club Stakes

Winners of past Carbine Club Stakes include Testifiable (2005), Al Maher (2004), Delago Brom (2002), Saintly (1995), Submariner (1989), Wonder Dancer (1988), Warned (1986), Shankhill Lass (1985), Emancipation (1982), Shiftmar (1974), Think Big (1973), Kiss Me Cait (1971).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Kaizad Heman Brave Mead
2022 Perfect Thought Elkington Road The Fortune Teller
2021 Fangirl Brigantine Daily Bugle
2020 Crosshaven Aysar Endanger
Horriying (d.h.)
2019 Dalasan Brandenburg Groundswell
2018 Ranier Wild Planet Secret Blaze
2017 Levendi Sambro Irish Vega
2016 Comin’ Through Morton’s Fork Bezel
2015 Mahuta Patch Adams Bassett
2014 Kermadec Stratum Star Manhattan Avenue
2013 Paximadia Hucklebuck Equator
2012 Lunar Rise Tatra Proverb
2011 Galah Highly Recommended Saint Etienne
2010 Mr Chard Goldstone Condelago
2009 Kidnapped Disco Summit Ruse De Guerre
2008 Dr Doutes Lucky Thunder Millbank
2007 Zacroona Schilling Montonari
2006 Permaiscuous Patriotism Antidotes
2005 Testafiable Fusiachi San San Vesuvio
2004 Al Maher Squad Pin Up Boy
2003 Sir Dex Tchaikovsky Sandy River
2002 Delago Brom Lord Volksraad Charlie Bub
2001 All Courage Gordo Road To Dance
2000 Inspire Sporting Scribe Neptunes Journey
1999 Over Trousers Poking Around
1998 Toy Carousel Royal Voyage Kensign
1997 Antiquity Desert Light Modern General
1996 Kailey Choice King Ivor Monets Cove
1995 Saintly Brackenbury Touch Of Force
1994 Perfect Harmony Marwina Chelsworth
1993 Voting Nordic Express Oakmont
1992 Baskerville Lansdowne Road Prince Of Ipoh
1991 Rapan Boy Laranto Springhill Lad
1990 Pre Record Galaxy Dancer Friends Venture
1989 Submariner Afghan Rebel Escalation
1988 Wonder Dancer Glacier Peak Shipwreck
1987 Top Innings Above Deck Otway
1986 Warned Sea Swell Cheers For Me
1985 Shankhill Lass Palatinski Fordyce
1984 Brave Salute Pagos Yarn Brash Son
1983 Wage Freeze Roman Aspect The Challenge
1982 Emancipation Man Of Madras Aree Lad
1981 Foxbay Never Late Cavallo
1980 Fortune Favours D’Aramis Aare
1979 Snowing Al’s Gamble Tai Ruler
1978 Kaysiboy Forgone Conclusion Comic Cobbler
1977 Sybarite Storm Cidium Silver Kiwi
1976 Kilkenny Lord Cervino Greensborough
1975 Bold Mayo Good Foundation Neoki
1974 Shiftmar Bella Rossa Romantic Party
1973 Think Big Marrone Lord Metric
1972 Cardinal Court Todmar Samage
1971 Kiss Me Cait Althrey Lad Gossiper