BRC Chairman’s Handicap Race Information

The BRC Chairman’s Handicap is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track:  Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 May 2024

BRC Chairman’s Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Chairmans Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2023 Chairmans Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 BRC Chairmans Handicap Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1978 and was won by a horse called Proficient. It was a Listed race from 1980 to 1994 and was awarded Group 3 status in 1995. It is often used as a lead-up to the Doomben Cup and Brisbane Cup.

In 2022 it was moved to Eagle Farm due to heavy rain during the week before.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Real Love (2016)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – I Will (1984); Filly – Lowan Star (1980)

Multiple winners: Le Juge (2019 & 2020)

Fastest time (2000m): Le Juge (2020) 2:01:96

Interesting trivia: In 2020 Chris Waller trained the first six over the line out of seven entries in the 16 horse field. In 2018 Anton En Avanty won at 150-1.

Past winners of the BRC Chairman’s Handicap

Winners of past BRC Chairman’s Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Spirit Ridge New Endeavour Dune Forty Five
2023 Kalpour Dune Forty Five Cepheus
2022 Yonkers Our Intrigue Smart Meteor
2021 Warning So You Win The Candy Man
2020 Le Juge Savacool Amother Dollar
2019 Le Juge Igraine Haripour
2018 Anton En Avant Lovani Rising Red
2017 Stampede The Chairman Chocante
2016 Real Love Sir John Hawkwood Volkhere
2015 Epingle Index Linked Volkhere
2014 Pretty Pins Danchai Brave Ali
2013 Quintessential Rothera Sysmo
2012 Hume Ironstein Warrior Within
2011 Humma Viking Hero Count Encosta
2010 Crossthestart Larry’s Never Late The Grogoch
2009 Ballack Rabbuka Sir Slick
2008 Fulmonti Diamondsondinside Legendary Man
2007 Mandela Mirkola Lass Bikkie Tin Blues
2006 Art Success Game On Hello Possums
2005 Zingam Classic Karla Chinbok
2004 So Assertive Domine King Keitel
2003 Another Warrior Raw Instinct We’re Dancing
2002 Society Beau Kreisler Mirage Raw Instinct
2001 Citi Habit Kazakh Belle Silent Impact
2000 Kazakh Belle Lord Oscar Reputed Groom