Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Race Information

The Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) is an 1100 metre set weights race for two-year-old colts and geldings run by the Melbourne Racing Club in February. It is run at Caulfield on CF Orr Stakes Day as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 February 2024

Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Race History

See the 2024 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Preview and results.

See the 2023 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Preview and results.

See the 2021 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) Preview and results.

It was first run in 1982.

History coming soon.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Beneteau (2010) 1:02:5

Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) & Blue Diamond Stakes: Written By (2018); Sepoy (2011); Bel Esprit (2002); Let’s Get Physical (1985); Rancher (1982).

Blue Diamond Prelude & Golden Slipper: Prowl (1998); Flying Spur (1995); Danzero (1992).

Interesting trivia: 2001 winner Lonhro was named the 2003-04 Australia’s Champion Racehorse. In 1993 Rory was first past the post but lost on protest to Alacqua.

Past winners of the Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G)

Winners of past Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) include Written By (2018), Flying Artie (2016),  Sepoy (2011) and Lonhro (2001).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Bodyguard Stay Focused Holmes A Court
2023 Barber Little Brose Corniche
2022 Lofty Strike Semillion Daumier
2021 General Beau Anamoe Jigsaw
2020 Hanseatic Rulership Rathlin
2019 I Am Immortal Shotmaker Hawker Hurricane
2018 Written By Plague Stone Native Soldier
2017 Property Pariah Wait For No One
2016 Flying Artie Star Turn China Dream
2015 Of The Brave Pride Of Dubai Sampeah
2014 Rubick Jabali Chivalry
2013 Kuroshio The Bowler Dissident
2012 General Rippa Rusambo Ferment
2011 Sepoy Running Tall Huegill
2010 Beneteau General Truce The Greatandthegood
2009 Real Saga Reward For Effort Starspangledbanner
2008 Wilander Exceedingly Good Minnesota Shark
2007 Shrewd Rhythm Zizou Victory Chant
2006 Due Sasso Wonderful World Swinging Bachelor
2005 Perfectly Ready The Rhine Bradbury’s Luck
2004 Way West Oratorio Sanziro
2003 Hammerbeam Murphy’s Blu Boy Scaredee Cat
2002 Bel Esprit Cool Trent Step Ahead
2001 Lonhro Niewand Tosamba
2000 Happy Giggle Lord Dane Sparks
1999 Charm Scene Land Real Jester Cullen
1998 Prowl Shovhog Special Edition
1997 Millward Evader Sports
1996 Winger Charger Polish Native Red Rascal
1995 Flying Spur Shaded Backgammon
1994 Danzero Western Beat Cannibal King
1993 Alacqua St Rory Pride Of Rancho
1992 Yachtie Just Juan Landsdowne Road
1991 Chief Headhunter Group Decision Noble Lancer
1990 Unspoken Word Trustful Satellite Bay
1989 Ark Regal Mabrook High Waters
1988 Nanutarra King’s High My Bright Boy