Bagot Handicap Race Information

The Bagot Handicap is a 2800 metre set open handicap race run by the Victorian Racing Club in early January, normally New Year’s Day. It is held at Flemington as one of the feature races on the program.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Friday 1 January 2021

Bagot Handicap Race History

See the 2021 Bagot Handicap Preview and Results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Tralee Rose (2021)

Multiple winners: Bold Bard (2002 & 2003)

Fastest time (2800m): Etymology (2019) 2:54.24

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Bagot Handicap

Winners of past Bagot Handicaps include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Tralee Rose Sin To Win Saint Eustace
2020 El Don High Bridge Azuro
2019 Etymology Berisha Crafty Devil
2018 Parthesia Etah James Ormito
2017 Annus Mirabilis Anemoi Thunder Teddington