Autumn Stakes Race Information

The Autumn Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in February. It is run at Caulfield on CF Orr Stakes Day at the start of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 February 2023

Autumn Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Autumn Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Autumn Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Autumn Stakes Preview and results.

Previously known as the Schweppervescence Cup.

History coming soon.

Autumn Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; Catechuchu (2007)

Fastest time (1400m): Dusty Star (2011) 1:22:5

Autumn Stakes & Australian Guineas: Light Fantastic (2008); Apache Cat (2006)

Interesting trivia: 2002 winner Don Eduardo and 1994 Tristalove are both from the mare Diamond Lover.

Past winners of the Autumn Stakes

Winners of past Autumn Stakes include horses that go on to major Group 1 races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Snow Patrol Southport Tycoon Zipaway
2023 Glint Of Silver Amenable The Fortune Teller
2022 Coastwatch Burning Power Lucky Decision
2021 Poland Amish Boy It’sourtime
2020 Microphone Banquo Adelaide Ace
2019 Hawkshot Dealmaker Ringerdingding
2018 Holy Snow Mr So And So Astoria
2017 Oak Door Attention Knowable
2016 Mahuta Sailing By Snoopy
2015 San Nicasio Zebulon Firehouse Rock
2014 Thunder Fantasy Rock Hero Late Charge
2013 Mulaazem Fiveandahalfstar Super Cool
2012 Pied A Terre Proliferate Adamantium
2011 Dusty Star Under The Eiffel Eclair Mystic
2010 Denman Guru Bob Most Immediate
2009 Fravashi Nicconi Heart Of Dreams
2008 Light Fantastic Vivacious Spirit Viatorian
2007 Catechuchu Haradasun Eclair Passion
2006 Apache Cat God’s Own Empress Lily
2005 Shinzig Not A Single Doubt Danehill Express
2004 Special Harmony Youth Dane Fever
2003 Titanic Jack Storm Prince Step Ahead
2002 Dash For Cash Barkada Zonked
2001 Desert Sky Desert Eagle Crop
2000 Sudurka Skymaker Noble Sensation
1999 Dignity Dancer Destruction Point Paris Dream
1998 Blaze The Turf Pleasure Giver Dodge
1997 Tampir Lane King Ivor Catainer
1996 Nick On The Run Tuscany Flyer Zoffcoast
1995 St Covet Dry Humour Baryshnikov
1994 Royal Rubiton Star Of Maple Voting
1993 Just Juan Air Seattle Palace Reign
1992 Laranto Jolly Old Mac Dapper’s Hope
1991 Canny Lad Vain Rancher Meg’s Ego
1990 The Oval Zaparri Tango Master
1989 King’s High Aforesaid Blazing Sword
1988 Havelock’s Pride Kaapstad Lygon Arms