Anzac Day Stakes Race Information

The Anzac Day Stakes is a 1400 metre handicap race for two-year-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in April. It is held at Flemington as one of the feature events of the Anzac Day meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 2YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Sunday 25 April 2021

Anzac Day Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Chaillot (2019)

Fastest time (1400m): Vassilator (2018) 1:22:37

Leading jockeys: Steven Arnold  with 4 wins (Merion 2014; Long John 2013; Underestimation 2012; Confectioner 2003).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Anzac Day Stakes

Winners of past Anzac Day Stakes include many youngsters that have gone on to become Group  winners.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Flying Award Ironedge Indictment
2019 Chaillot Deserved Super Seth
2018 Vassilator Wild Planet Sizzleme
2017 Merchant Navy Casino Fourteen Speed Street
2016 Throssell Pyx Chamber Smart As You Think
2015 My Popette Lizard Island Petracca
2014 Merion Light Up Manhattan Lazyaxl
2013 Long John Tikitour Ready Cuz
2012 Underestimation Pillar Of Creation Priority Road
2011 Raffles Pegasus Nordic Duke Win For Layla
2010 Epic Dragon Life Is A Cabernet Domesky
2009 Extra Zero Stoneblack Royal Dalton
2008 Outdo Dan Baroness Astro Gains
2007  ** Race not run **
2006   ** Race not run **
2005 Cianara Benicio I Command
2004 Lady Of The Desert Kaliningrad Poseidon’s Secret
2003 Confectioner Ambulance Botero
2002 Magic Bird Fraar Side Fuji Dancer
2001 Franjelica Hot Beat Princess Dehere
2000 Stormy Summers Night Rider Royale Exit