Alinghi Stakes Race Information

The Alinghi Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights & penalties race for fillies and mares three-year-olds and up run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Caulfield Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights & penalties, Fillies and mares 3YOs & up
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 21 October 2023

Alinghi Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Alinghi Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Alinghi Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 2012 and was won by Mrs Onassis.

Used to be a handicap but is now set weights & penalties.

It is held on Caulfield Cup day which is the biggest event of the year at Caulfield

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Fuhryk (2017) 1:03:18

Leading jockey: Kerrin McEvoy with 2 wins (From Within 2018 & The Messina Nymph 2014)

Interesting trivia: In 2017 Fuhyrk ran the fastest time for the race so far and also carried the highest winning weight (58kg) so far.

Past winners of the Alinghi Stakes

Winners of past Alinghi Stakes include Humma Humma (2019), Fuhryk (2017) and Mrs Onassis (2012).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Lempicka Hypothetical Viviane
2022 A Very Fine Red Shalstar Melba Storm
2021 Mileva Bless Her Never Talk
2020 California Zimbol Fituese Prophet’s Thumb
2019 Humma Humma Demerara Prophet’s Thumb
2018 From Within Working From Home Soothing
2017 Fuhryk Lyuba Nieta
2016 Palazzo Pubblico Aegean Sea Vezalay
2015 Vezalay Miss Promiscuity Tuscan Sling
2014 The Messina Nymph Cradle Me Sino Eagle
2013 Liesele Sumakaray Lonhspresso
2012 Mrs Onassis Serene Star Follonica