Abell Stakes Race Information

The Abell Stakes is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club on a Friday night in March. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 1 March 2024

Abell Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Abell Stakes Preview and results

See the 2023 Abell Stakes Preview and results

The race was first held in 2012 when it was won by Outlandish Lad. It was previously run at Moonee Valley under lights on the same Friday evening as the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes. Those races are now held on a Saturday.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: She’s All Class (2023)

Multiple winners: It Is Written (2014 & 2015)

Fastest time (1200m): Ancestry (2021) 1:09:37

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Abell Stakes

Winners of past Abell Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Indian Pacific Nunthorpe Bank Maur
2023 She’s All Class In The Boat Mileva
2022 In The Boat Regardsmaree Katalin
2021 Ancestry Riddle Me That Dollar For Dollar
2020 Faatinah Gift Of Power Dr Drill
2019 Mystyko Battle Hero Princeton Spirit
2018 Whispering Brook Glenall Benz
2017 Bassett Reldas Well Sprung
2016 Reldas Onerous It Is Written
2015 It Is Written Tudor Fast ‘N’ Rocking
2014 It Is Written Le Bonsir Solsay
2013 Loveyamadly Go The Knuckle It Is Written
2012 Outlandish Lad Shock Value Utah Saints