A V Kewney Stakes Race Information

The A V Kewney Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-old fillies run by the Victoria Racing Club in March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

A V Kewney Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Kewney Stakes Preview and Results.

History coming soon.

The distance returned to 1600m in 2021.

A V Kewney Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Spanish Whisper (2019) 1:22:04

Fastest time (1600m): Umaline (2000) 1:34:1

A V Kewney Stakes & ATC Oaks: How Now (1976); Gossiper (1972); Gay Poss (1970); Lowland (1968); Dual Quest (1966); Gay Satin (1958); Sandara (1957). No fillies have won this double since the Kewney Stakes was shortened to 1400m.

A V Kewney Stakes & Australasian Oaks: Gallica (2009); Zarita (2008); Anamato (2007); Tristalove (1994); Mannerism (1991); Send Me An Angel (1987) – but again none since the Kewney Stakes became a 1400m event.

Angus Armanasco Stakes & A V Kewney Stakes: Zarita (2008); Ballet Society (2005); Special Harmony (2004); Elegant Fashion (2002); Northwood Plume (1995); Bravita (1980).

The Vanity & A V Kewney Stakes: Solicit (2014); Ballet Society (2005); Tennessee Vain (1988).

Interesting trivia: 1981 winner Deck The Halls won the 1981 Rosehill Guineas in the same preparation.

Past winners of the A V Kewney Stakes

Winners of past A V Kewney Stakes include horses that go on to win Group 1 races

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Starelle Chica Fuerte Personal
2020 Rubisaki Pretty Brazen Fascino
2019 Spanish Whisper Victory Kingdom Angelic Ruler
2018 Bella Martini Shokora Palazzo Vecchio
2017 I Am A Star Ellicazoom Kenedna