Widden Stakes Race Information

The Widden Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights and penalties race for two-year-old fillies run by the Australian Turf Club in late January or early February. It is held at Rosehill as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights and penalties, 2YO fillies
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 February 2024

Widden Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Widden Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Widden Stakes Preview and results.

The race dates back to 1943 when it was held as a Principal Race over 5 furlongs (about 1000m) at Randwick racecourse and was run by a filly named Birthright ridden by A. Gollogly, ahead of Miss Sovereign and Tea Rose.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Satin Shoes (2011) 1:03.06

Widden Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Mossfun (2014); Overreach (2013).

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Widden Stakes

Winners of past Widden Stakes include Away Game (2020), Fiesta (2018), Mossfun (2014), Overreach (2013), Satin Shoes (2011), Dynasty (1993), Triscay (1989), Magic Flute (1985), Shaybisc (1979) and Denise’s Joy (1974).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Lady Of Camelot Manaal Wave Breaker
2023 Learning To Fly Steel City Mumbai Muse
2022 Queen Of The Ball Revolutionary Miss Pantonario
2021 Mallory Total Babe Vianello
2020 Away Game Centimental Philizzy
2019 Amercement Rotator Blazing Miss
2018 Fiesta Adamina River Bird
2017 Teaspoon Mystic Empire Sweet Deal
2016 Honesty Prevails Smart Amelia Chipanda
2015 Fireworks Lake Geneva Igraine
2014 Mossfun Ygritte Twirl
2013 Overreach Everage Brilliant Bisc
2012 Driefontein Agueda Hussousa
2011 Satin Shoes Elite Falls Shared Reflections
2010 Georgette Silk Mafia Miss So Detached
2009 Horizons Melito Marquardt
2008 Delta Girl Stripper Jiale
2007 Superfly Goldam Illuminates
2006 Churchill Downs Fleur Royale Big Joker
2005 Pasikatera Snowden Kincharm
2004 Econsul Ballybleue Segments
2003  ** Race not held **    
2002 Secret Land Hasna Danish Magic
2001 Riona Chatelaine Highest
2000 Miss Bussell Happens Vita